Can you heat / cool a pop-up effectively?

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by cv7713, Feb 8, 2010.

1. cv7713

cv7713 I'd rather be Camping

I guess this is my main concern with a pop-up. We are getting ready to purchase our first PUP and it has A/C and heat. With canvas sides, does it effectively heat (or cool) the inside? Where we live get's up 100+ in the summer and down in the 20's in the winter. Trying to heat a tent is useless and wondered if heating a PUP is the same. What's your experience?

-CV

[o!!!o]

2. wardog

wardog Member

I can tell you at least about the a/c. We live in Texas where it is quite hot and have no trouble keeping our pup cold. I end up having to turn it down because it is too cold. Now as for the heat I have limited experience with this. We were in Wyoming this summer when the temps would get into the mid 30's and we would turn on the furnace to get the chill out of the pup. It really did heat it up pretty fast but we didn't run it long because it uses a lot of propane. We are taking an electric heater with us this weekend to try camping in the cold weather. Temps to be in the 30's here in Texas. I don't expect we will have any trouble keeping warm.

Oh one other thing. We bought gizmos bunkend covers to help with the heat in the bunk ends and this year we are putting reflectix in our windows and under bunkends to help insulate.

3. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member

I can tell you about the heat.. The heater in our pup can keep that ting at 80 degrees it we wish (but it burns through the propane fast). This past fall when we were camping and it was down to about 50 or so at night (maybe even into the 40's) we used an electric heater as the primary source of heat with the propane heater as a secondary. The propane heater only came on about 3 times through the night, the electric heater basically kept the pup at a confortable 68 degrees.

4. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member