Car radio install with plug

Discussion in 'Campsite Electronics' started by campertymzfour, Mar 29, 2010.

1. campertymzfour

campertymzfour New Member

I have a car radio/CD player at home that I was considering installing in the pup.
    I don't boondock at all so the CD player would run off shore power.
    Instead of hardwiring it to the pup I thought about installing a standard plug on the end, since there is an outlet inside the pup near my proposed installation area. Can this be done easily?
    I'm no electrician but I thought adding a standard plug to a car radio wouldn't be difficult.

2. barb_dave

barb_dave Active Member

You wont be able to run the Car radio/cd player off of shore power as they operate on 12 volts. Hooking the radio up this way would just fry it.

3. Hanvee3

Hanvee3 New Member

I just installed a car radio in our pup. I cut a hole in the side of one of the cabinets and installed the radio/cd. I cut two holes and installed the speakers which I bought brand new from Goodwill.

The main power and the ignition wire has to go to 12VDC (+) the black wire goes to ground (-).
    The speaker wires run as pairs to the speakers. (Do not ground any of the speaker wires) If you want to use only shore power you must install a 12V transformer of at least 2 amps.

Had the pup opened up for the installation of the radio but has closed it up since because of the rain, otherwise I would attach pics. Hope I did not confuse you. Installation is a lot easier than explanation.

4. campertymzfour

Sounds easy enough. My other thought was to install a boom box in the storage area by the front door. I could go either way.

Thanks hanvee3. No need to post picks for me. Since you live in Pickering too you could just pull it on over! [:D]

We can be found at the Glenrouge a few times over the summer, especially on the May 24.

Cheers
    Ian

5. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member