caulk: polyurethane or silicone?

Discussion in 'Roof/Floor Repair & Maintenance' started by nomoretent, Jun 10, 2011.

What is your preference for exterior seam seals?

Poll closed Jun 13, 2011.
  1. polyurethane caulk (eg 3M™ Marine Fast Cure 5200 Adhesive Sealant)

8 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. 100% silicone

4 vote(s)
    30.8%
  3. acrylic latex with silicone added

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. sythetic rubber solvent based thermoplastic (eg dyco 20 20 or Quad OSI)

2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  5. other (please post a brief why)

1 vote(s)
    7.7%
  1. nomoretent

nomoretent Member

I've read hundreds of responses on which type of sealant to use to caulk roof seams. I thought I'd make it easy and just do a poll. I know a lot of people feel pretty strongly based on their experiences using caulk, I was just hoping to get a feel for a % preference.

WARNING: I am a newbie so if I phrased something wrong or missed an option, please feel free to nicely correct me. :)

2. jenryan

jenryan New Member

I'm in the begining stages of a sideboard replacment and i have been spending hours reading posts.....one thing that sticks out is the 3M Marine caulk - 5200 & 4200. 4200 is half the strength of the 5200 and designed to be removed if needed. 5200 is considered permanent. I purchased the 4200 at Ace Hardware for 15.99 per tube. Best price I could find and no shipping!

3. Xolthrax

Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    I used 3M 5200 based on an article in RV magazine and advice from a friend who used to repair RV's for a living.

4. EastBeast

EastBeast NO soup for you!

Thumbs up on the 3M products.

5. rabird

rabird Howdy!

I didn't care to do this more than once and knew what it might look like if I tried to caulk.

I went with ETERNABOND ROOFSEAL WHITE 2" X 50' ROLL

Easy and functional. Looks: dirt seems to stick to the tape, especially where I push on the roof to get it in and out of the garage.

6. Bullfrog Bheer

Bullfrog Bheer Well-Known Member