Columbia Northwest Buys Former FTC Rights

Discussion in 'RV Industry & Camping Related News' started by PopUpSteve, May 2, 2012.

1. PopUpSteve

PopUpSteve Administrator

SOURCE: RV Daily Report

2. ghacker

ghacker Active Member

While I'm sure this will be subject to debate, IMHO that's good news for Coleman owners and Aliner.

3. BajaPup

BajaPup New Member

I'm new to RVs in general and a Coleman Yuma owner. Aside from the recent economic downturn and a few years of bad roofs, what killed Fleetwood/Coleman?

4. ghacker

ghacker Active Member

There's no list that everyone would agree on but here's a few likely factors that are in no particular order:

A general economic downturn that hurt the entire RV industry.

The ABS roof fiasco had to play a role. With a @15% failure rate, it was expensive to replace them and created bad customer relations and PR on boards like the Portal. Had to be some poor management decisions involved with this.

They had off/on labor issues for a number of years.

Sold to Blackstreet Capital, an investment firm that didn't have a clue on how to run a RV business. As with many investment firms, if it doesn't meet their profit requirements, they bail out.

5. silvermickey2002

silvermickey2002 Morris County, NJ

As an owner of a 2008 Fleetwood Sea Pine I'm glad to hear that this has taken place.

6. myrazofam

myrazofam Guest

I love these new Somerset's.

7. mostlyok

mostlyok We're Mostly OK!

We saw these at the Tampa RV show in January. I was drawn to them when I saw a corner of a familiar looking camper peeking out from a big Class A bus.
    I was so happy I hugged the guy there. He was from the Somerset plant and he and several guys were working on getting it rolling with Aliner.
    They looked really nice. I hope it works out.

8. NH-popper

NH-popper Boldly going camping!

Hopefully there will be a dealer in New England sometime soon.

9. pianewman

pianewman Ft. Worth, TX