considering a pop up need your help

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by dirtyleft, Mar 29, 2009.

1. dirtyleft

dirtyleft New Member

I am new to camper and know nothing about them. I have a person wanting to sell me a 10 foot 1977 Starcraft pop up for 300 buck. It has a few problems. . The corner of the back wall is rotten and is pulling way from the side walls and needs to be braced. I really dont know that that means and there is a tear in the cavas . I seen pic of the camper it looks ok but I want to know if these issues can be repaired. I am just looking for something cheap to find out if we even like camping or not. thanks your help is needed.

2. jeff h

jeff h New Member

you need to see the camper in person and pop up. dont just buy from a pix. i did and it cost me a lot more money than i wanted to spend. but i did have a lot of fun fixing and doing some mods to it. anything can be repaired. 300 is a great price.

2000 jeep wrangler
    1991 roockwood xl 1006
    jeff and gail

3. jeff h

jeff h New Member

also look at the floor for soft spots.

2000 jeep wrangler
    1991 roockwood xl 1006
    jeff and gail

4. ohpupgang

ohpupgang Member

It may sound like a good deal, but be cautious of other issues that may arise. Have you been able to raise and lower the top? Check the cables for fraying, inspect roof for damage, check for weak spots in the floor, and insure that it is road worthy. Are you willing to spend a lot of time on fixing the camper up. It may be cheap at first, but the repairs could cost you more then you think.

Hope this help. I sure you will enjoy camping, as my family and I love it.

Mark

5. Buddycamp

Buddycamp New Member

Yes buying a cheap pop up sounds like a good deal. I want you to keep a few things in mind.

How handy are you, and how much time and money do you want to put into this camper?

What is the condition of the roof & lift system?