Converter Failure

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by David P Abernathy, Jun 22, 2019.

  1. David P Abernathy

    David P Abernathy New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    We plugged the 30a plug into a 220 outlet, it should have been into a 110 with an adapter. Do we to replace the converter or is there a fuse or something simpler to replace.

    First time on here, glad to get the help.

    Dave
     
  2. GreyFox

    GreyFox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,189
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Location:
    S Ontario
    Hard to say, you haven't given us any info to go on at all - make, model, year of camper or converter make / model. If it's a recent model converter you may have gotten lucky and simply blown a fuse, if an older model it's likely toast.
     
  3. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    437
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    30 amp you probably pooped the breaker in the AC side of the power center in the camper. Check all of them.
     
  4. David P Abernathy

    David P Abernathy New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    The model of the converter is wf-8735-p, I've searched the internet and can't find anything. Have checked all the breakers, all fuses are good. When plugged into 110v, all the some things works (A/C, microwave) but no the DC stuff (lights, slides, water pump). But when we switch to the batteries, the DC things work. It seems like the converter is not converting when plugged into the AC side.
     
  5. joet

    joet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,971
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Elkins WV area
    Sounds like its toast. If you do decide that you need one, I have a new one still in the box,,,,for half price, with buyer paying for the ride
     
  6. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    456
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    California
    Since it costs nothing to look - Look for a fuse inside the Converter (aside from the circuit breaker) - maybe like in the photo (an old Centurion converter, since removed from the Aliner, and replaced)
     

    Attached Files:

    Blackripley likes this.
  7. Blackripley

    Blackripley Active Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    100
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Goleta Ca
  8. tfischer

    tfischer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,804
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Location:
    Plymouth (Minneapolis) Minnesota
    I've been inside my WFCO because the large ceramic resistors broke off due to road vibrations (seems to be a relatively common problem looking at the amazon reviews).

    Be very careful as the large electrolytic capacitors may still hold a charge (they sure were for me). You can discharge them by shorting them with a screwdriver.

    Pretty sure there are some glass fuses on the board. But I'm not sure they would blow before another component when the wrong voltage was applied.
     

Share This Page