Crap...discovered roof damage. Wet wood - Help!

Discussion in 'Roof/Floor Repair & Maintenance' started by Floridays, May 19, 2013.

1. Floridays

Floridays New Member

Complete newbie PUP owner here and though we have not camped in it yet, we have been working on fixing up the minor things and REALLY enjoying it...until today.

I was repairing some small cracks and filling seams with caulking (5200) on the roof when I discovered some spongy spots along the edge. After peeling up the old (big glob) of caullking I found WET wood.

Not sure at all where to begin, but do I need to cut the aluminum out and replace wood, or cut aluminum out and let it dry out then...do what?

I'm pretty handy and will tackle ANYTHING, I just would love some general direction from the pros! [:D]

Just feeling kind of overwhelmed. [V]

Here are some pics of the damage (1998 Coachmen Clipper 1260)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Floridays

Floridays New Member

Lots of views, no takers... [LOL]

I have begun the process of removing a large section of aluminum. The previous owner had patched a few spots with caulking and another aluminum patch. I am planning on taking out a 2'x3' section of aluminum because I found that the wood was wet but not rotting.

There are some sections of the roof that have delaminated, any advice on how to "relaminate" these areas before I treat the wood and put the new aluminum in?

Thanks!

3. tconroy

tconroy Active Member

Im new to this also but feel for you. I am working on my roof today.PO caulked AC gasket down now I have a mees