Damprid cancel out CabFresh?

Discussion in 'Camper Storage / Winterizing & De-Winterizing' started by 4letterstate, Sep 20, 2016.

1. 4letterstate

4letterstate New Member

I am new to pop-up camping, and I want to get my 2014 Rockwood winterized. I have been reading the posts on winterizing, and I have a question about using DampRid (charcoal to absorb moisture and smells) and Cab Fresh rodent repellent. It seems to me that the odor absorbing nature of DampRid would cancel out the effectiveness of the CabFresh pine-scent emitting repellent.
    Am I thinking about this too much, or can these two products work effectively together to help protect my camper?

2. redz

redz New Member

I am also new to winterizing and the same boat as you right now with researching winterizing.

My personal opinion is the two would cancel each other out. I'm actually gonna pick up some Cab Fresh as I'm super paranoid about rodents getting into my trailer.

3. Firehawk068

Firehawk068 Active Member

In my personal experience, you are wasting your time and money on CabFresh.
    It does nothing to repel mice from getting in. It will only slightly mask the smell of their pee/poop, but not entirely.
    I work for an agency where we have vehicles that sit parked for longer periods of time between uses, and equipment that is sometimes parked in a field for a few days or a couple weeks.
    The mice find their way in, and cause all sorts of damage. It is a huge problem with some of our vehicles.
    We have tried all the popular remedies, from CabFresh to Bounce sheets to Moth Balls......etc.
    I can tell you with absolute certainty that mice just laugh at CabFresh.

The only thing that seems to work fairly well is Moth Balls, however the smell inside the vehicle with using that is just about as bad as mouse urine.