Dishes/organization with kids

Discussion in 'Camping with Kids/Pets' started by Shawna Kramer, May 21, 2020.

1. Shawna Kramer

Shawna Kramer New Member

Hi all! I'm relatively new to pop up camping. I have an 8, 5, and 1 year old. We have taken the pop up out a few times. But this last time I felt like I could not get organized with how to do dishes, wash bottles, keep food organized. We don't have anything fancy, meaning we have a small sink, but its really small so trying to do dishes is hard in it. And no other hot water options, etc. Anyway, any ideas on how everyone else does dishes, keeps things organized with kids in all ears! Thanks for the input!

2. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Go paper ...... as you said .... it is next to impossible to do dishes in a toy sink
    Or set up an outdoor kitchen so you have more room.

3. Toedtoes

Toedtoes Well-Known Member

A lot of folks use shelving and closet organizers to help things run smoother. A hanging shoe rack and hold bottles, cups, eating utensils, cooking utensils, etc. A shelving unit can sit on your counter top when at camp to hold food, etc.

As mentioned, you can use dish tubs to use as an outside kitchen to help with dishes (fill with hot water from sink or heat up water using a kettle) or do disposable.

Shawna Kramer and Sjm9911 like this.
  4. Shawna Kramer

Shawna Kramer New Member

Thanks- I have used mostly paper products so that has helped for sure. And this time I started trying to use the basin method to wash dishes, don't feel like I can really clean them well but I'm sure it will get easier!

HappyTraveler likes this.
  5. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah