dual solar with a twist

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by Anthony Hitchings, Jun 20, 2019.

1. Anthony Hitchings

Anthony Hitchings Active Member

camping in very wooded Yellowstone Canyon campground for 5 nites, using Engel electric frig, got me to thinking about how to keep batterie(s) charged with trees blocking the sun.

My current rig is one 100W panel on the ALiner roof + one 105AH battery in the Aliner.

So I am considering a 2nd 100W panel on roof of Jeep (tilting mount) and 2nd house battery in the Jeep! This will charge up during the day when we are out in sunshine driving and parked at a trailhead (i.e., away from trees). At night, use this battery, still in the Jeep, to recharge the ALiner battery via a DC-DC Renogy charger.

Any comments?

shuang2 and bearman512 like this.
  2. bheff

bheff Well-Known Member

I'm an no expert on solar zero, zip, zilch. But it sounds like using one battery to charge another wouldn't work that well. They will even out at a lower voltage. Why not just charge one in the jeep during the day then swap it out?

3. joet

joet Well-Known Member

Why just a small 105ah battery? How many amps does the fridge draw? Remember that ideally you don't want to draw a battery down below 50%. Even with your DC to DC charger you are going to loose, as there is no such thing as a free lunch. You will have more going in than out.

4. gladecreekwy

gladecreekwy Well-Known Member

Great idea.

5. PopUpSteve

PopUpSteve Administrator

Can you replace with a 3-way so you can run on propane? Either that or start using ice. What CG in Yellowstone?

6. SteveP

SteveP Well-Known Member

You could wire it as an auxiliary battery in the Jeep, with an isolator or solenoid to protect the starting battery, so that it will get some charge from the alternator. And wire the charge line from the Jeep off of the aux battery. Then when needed just plug in the 7 pin to run both batteries in parallel.