Dutch oven, cast iron grill or pan?

Discussion in 'Pots, Pans, Grills, Other Cookware / Cleaning & Fo' started by Chloe, Jul 15, 2017.

1. Chloe

Chloe Active Member

I've been thinking of getting one of these, though maybe I need all 3! Looking for opinions....

If my only choice for cooking is on an open-top gas grill (no open/wood fire), which item would be more versatile? I might not want to use my good stainless steel pan on a grill, so that's why I thought of cast iron, though I have little experience with it. But then, the grill is open... there's no lid to close, like on my grill at home. So maybe Dutch oven would be better? Unless I just use foil as a cover... or get a pan with cover (though I haven't ever seen one).

I'm thinking of making soup, stew, anything liquidy, but also for eggs, bacon,etc. I don't want a non-stick grill, for health reasons and because I know it will scratch.

On top of this is the question of what size to get! DH and I are light eaters... 1 quart of stew is more than enough for 1 meal. Dogs would likely get some of that. So, I was thinking a flat, 2 or 3 quart Dutch oven would be fine? That could leave us with leftovers for lunch.

Anyway, looking for thoughts on the most ideal setup. Maybe Dutch oven and a CI grill would work best? Thanks!!!

2. yetavon

yetavon everything is better around a campfire.

Well a Dutch Oven will be the most versatile. Can use it on a grill. stove or fire, fry, stew or simmer, add the lid and bake. size...just 2 I would suggest an 8 and 10 inch....add a 12 for baking dump cakes, 16 deep for baking chickens...you see where this is going....

3. lostboy

lostboy Active Member

We use a 10 inch cast iron pan for most things but do have a set of stainless pans and skillet as well. We cook on a Coleman propane stove.

4. Winchested

Winchested Member