Exterior lights

Discussion in 'Lighting, Interior and Exterior' started by firepit, May 11, 2021.

1. firepit

firepit Well-Known Member

I would like to add a porch light or some light/lights under my steps.
    My camper never came with them but now the 2021 models do (Figures).
    How do I go about doing this....I have 2 power outlets below each bunk and
    convertor is below the dinette bench.
    I am no electrician...Do I come off one off the existing outlets?
    straight from the converter ( Don't the converters have a spare accessory port/block/spot
    whatever the correct term is?
    I have a cabinet on each side of the door as you walk in for a switch.
    The outlet below the bunk on one end is attached to the cabinet and is a GFI since the sink is right across from it.
    What is the best way to power whatever light I install?
    I know this a loaded question but any help would be appreciated.
    The camper is 2019 Coachmen Clipper 806XLS.
    Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Sjm9911

Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

Just get a battery or solar one. I have a solar one that is a motion detecter i used for a year or two. With the TT i dont bother. The outside light works fine.

3. firepit

I had one and darn thing worked for like 2 trips and quit working.

4. WrkrBee

WrkrBee Un-Supported Member

First thing to decide is if you are using 12vdc or 120vac components.

5. firepit

120...90% of my camping is in electrical spots

6. SteveP

SteveP Well-Known Member Platinum Supporting Member