Extra Tanks

Discussion in 'Propane - Got Gas' started by PopUpSteve, Feb 5, 2021.

  1. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    19,829
    Likes Received:
    2,563
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Like myself, I know others carry extra propane tanks on long trips. But it can be a pain to swap-out tanks under the bunkend at 3am (or anytime). So I was thinking (can you smell the rubber burning), why not have an extension hose of about 4 feet long that could go from a fresh tank on the ground and attach to the hose end that normally screws onto the tank on the tongue of the camper? Something like this. Thoughts?
    upload_2021-2-5_14-31-17.png
     
  2. Arruba

    Arruba Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    271
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Location:
    Central Oregon
    My thought is go for it. I don’t see how that’s different from running a hose from your tank on tongue to a grill or stove.
     
  3. SteveP

    SteveP Well-Known Member Platinum Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    747
    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
  4. Eric Webber

    Eric Webber Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    I don’t see why not. I went with dual tanks on mine with an auto-changeover- and swapped to fibreglass propane tanks to compensate for the extra weight
     
  5. gladecreekwy

    gladecreekwy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,270
    Likes Received:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Jackson Wyoming
    perfect. i cant pull my tank out of its holder with the bunk out.
     
    littlebritches likes this.
  6. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    19,829
    Likes Received:
    2,563
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Yup, I've been using Viking Tanks for years and the weight savings allowed me to comfortably add a second battery. And I have them locked to the tongue of the camper. Too expensive to leave unprotected. But that adds to the issue of removal with the bunkend out. That's why I think I'll use an extension hose to hookup the extra tank (which is a standard metal tank).
     
    Sjm9911 and Eric Webber like this.
  7. Eric Webber

    Eric Webber Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    How did you lock them? I just keep mine under a soft cover that makes them look no different from any other 40lb tank pair
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  8. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    19,829
    Likes Received:
    2,563
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Lock & Key !

    upload_2021-2-6_17-22-34.png
     
  9. NMroamer

    NMroamer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    586
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    I did the 3 a.m tank change several years ago.
    Carry an extension hose now.
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  10. Eric Webber

    Eric Webber Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Smart
     
  11. JimmyM

    JimmyM Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Location:
    Franklin, MA
    One of the hoses on my regulator is 4 footer. I haven't had to use it yet, but it's there when i need it.
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  12. Utemike

    Utemike New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    I use an inline gauge so I can change out when it gets close. No need to wait for 3 am :)
     
  13. JimmyM

    JimmyM Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Location:
    Franklin, MA
    Well, yeah. That's always a plus. I have an auto-changeover to prevent the 3AM trip outside.
    I just added the long hose after a week of camping in the cold when I ran through both 20# tanks and had to swap tanks to get refilled ones in. If I had the hose, it would have been a simple matter of connecting a 3rd tank with the longer hose.
    Now, of course, after getting the 4' hose, I haven't run both tanks out in a trip yet.
     
    PopUpSteve likes this.
  14. littlebritches

    littlebritches Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    WY
    The things that I never thought of!! I have several extension hoses and a T. I won't have this problem again!! Thanks!
     
  15. natomato

    natomato New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Do you have a high pressure regulator? Or just the low pressure regulator? I have two tanks and would like to set up an auto-changeover, but I can't find one for 16 psi.
     
  16. natomato

    natomato New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    For those of you who have an auto-changeover, does anyone have a high pressure regulator? I would like to set up an auto-changeover, but I need the propane to go through a 16 psi regulator first, and I'm having trouble finding one that can hook up to two tanks.
     
  17. Jkoht

    Jkoht Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    That hose would need to have an ACME male end and a ACME female end. What's pictured would not connect to a campers regulator, but with the right hose the theory is sound. Personally I'd just do double tanks and have a changeover valve, or put a 30lb tank on.
     
  18. Eric Webber

    Eric Webber Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    I only have the low pressure regulator, but I put a splitter on one of the tanks so I can screw on a high pressure line as needed
     
  19. natomato

    natomato New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    That's a great idea! I'll have to consider that!
     
  20. tzmartin

    tzmartin Not here for a long time but here for a good time! Diamond Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Location:
    Clayton, Georgia
    Wow, didn't know there was such a thing as a composite propane tank! Nice upgrade. How many years do they last? Can they be recertified?
     

Share This Page