First Camper! 83 Coleman Columbia

Discussion in 'Camper Restoration Projects' started by JessRossetti, May 8, 2016.

1. JessRossetti

JessRossetti New Member

Hi everyone!

Let me start off by saying that I'm a complete newbie when it comes to pop up campers. We were big on tent camping but now we now have a 7mo old son and a little dog, so we decided it was time to upgrade.

My husband and I just recently purchased a 1983 Coleman Columbia for ...... 300$! I've been looking around for a some-what project camper for a while and a few days ago I found it on Kijiji.

The reason for the low price is that the canvas has a TON of holes. All four corners where the beds are are torn, and there's a bunch of small holes in the screens and on all the walls. Other than that the camper is in perfect shape; no water damage (that we can see... I will be checking), and no musty smell. Also, the covers on the cushions are removable so I can toss them in the washing machine (yay!)

The first thing I'm going to do once we bring the camper home is remove all the canvas and scrub, and scrub... And scrub. I'll also be washing the covers for the mattress & cushions. Then give the camper a full bleaching.

I've also ordered roughly 1.5yards of beige canvas (40$ CA) and I plan on cutting my patches from it. I would've bought repair kits but the patches that come with aren't big enough.

My question is: What's the best brand of "patch cement"?

I'll post pictures when I get the chance :) [PU]

2. Mally

Mally Member

Congrats on the purchase!
    For cleaning, I would recommend oxyclean. Stuff works wonders.

Also, is your tenting material sunbrella/canvas, or a fabric backed vinyl?

If it is Vinyl, I would recommend VLP Vinyl Adhesive
    http://www.amazon.com/Performix-075815100016-Leather-Vinyl-Repair/dp/B000PS6N4E
    IF its Canvas/Sunbrella, others have had great success with "Bishs Tear Mender"
    http://www.amazon.com/Val-Chicago-Fabric-Leather-Mender/dp/B00GVKXFI2