FIRST COME.....

Discussion in 'General Camping Discussion Forum' started by Beekeeper1, Jul 5, 2019.

1. Beekeeper1

Beekeeper1 Member

I am new at this and was wondering how important is making reservations for a campsite. How many of you just try for "first come" sites. I sure I would probably call ahead and ask about available sites. How far ahead do you reserve? I plan on trying to visit my daughter, who lives in Montross VA. I would like to stay at the state park. I have checked on line and there seems to always be several sites available that cannot be reserved. The sites that are reserveable at this time do not have electric.

2. eoleson1

eoleson1 Well-Known Member

I would make a reservation if you can. First come sites can be a crapshoot depending on the park, the time of year, the day of the week, etc. Usually if you call, they will give you a vague answer about when or if the park tends to fill up on a particular day.

PopUpSteve and Rik Peery like this.
  3. Rik Peery

Rik Peery Well-Known Member