First time in a pop up, issue during first 3 minutes.

Discussion in 'Campground Etiquette' started by mkoser, Aug 13, 2012.

1. mkoser

mkoser New Member

Hello,

The family and I took our 86 Palomino on an almost 900 mile trip for the first time this weekend! Things went great, for camping with a pop-up for the first time.

We did have some "neighbors" that pretty much drove me crazy. I'm not good with confrontation, so I just let it all go.
    Here is what happened.

Our tow vehicle is a 2005 completely stock EVERYTHING (including exhaust) mint condition Ford F350 diesel pickup.

As we were pulling into our spot at 3:00 in the afternoon, a middle age couple in a "Taj Mahal" style camper immediately came over to our spot and asked us if we could refrain from starting or moving our vehicle during the "hours of quiet time" as listed on a non-official printed piece of paper that I assume this couple had created.

I told them that I didn't see any reason why we'd be going anywhere between 10:00pm and 6:00am, but we'd try to keep quiet. The lady then said that she is really irritated at the sound of a diesel engine, and if we could try to limit the time we start the truck to go someplace, she'd appreciate that.

I said ok, and left.

About 20 minutes later, after the camper was set up, the lady came back over to our site and asked if our children (we have a 4 year old and a two year old) were "noisy children." I said that they are not typically loud, unruly kids. The lady then stated that she happened to know that there was a site open next to the bathrooms, and perhaps that would be a better location for us to camp. I stated that we were fine where we were, and we did not want to move. The lady then made some comment about how people spend a lot of money to get away from the hassles of everyday life....

After that, I was pretty mad. I decided to load up the family and go into town (in our BIG LOUD BELCHING truck) to get a dinner.