First Time Repacking Bearings

Discussion in 'Tires / Brakes / Bearings / Axles' started by Bigantlers, May 17, 2019.

1. Bigantlers

Bigantlers Member

This is my first time repacking the bearings and I'd like to know if anyone sees any problems in the posted pic:
    IMG-1932.JPG

2. Bigantlers

Bigantlers Member

Also, can I use brake cleaner on everything in there? Will it interfere with the electrical components?

3. syoungs

syoungs New Member

I dont see anything glaringly obvious on your spindle there. Are there any rough spots. Grooves etc where the bearing will ride?

You can use brake cleaner to clean the spindle and area around it. I try not to drench any of the magnetic brake components or wiring though.

4. Bigantlers

Bigantlers Member

Spindles look nice and shiny. Races look good. I'm replacing the bearings because I did have damage on one side. I'm putting Timiken's back in.

I sprayed everything down with a special cleaner that can be used safely on electrical components. Autozone didn't want me to use brake cleaner. I'll post a pic of what it looks like cleaned up.

I didn't realize that the brake "pad" was the oval looking thing on the bottom. Do those ever wear out?

I painted the hubs as well with caliper paint and they turned out awesome. Ill post a pic of that also.

I'm going to order a set of black lug nuts to top it off and maybe paint the rims next year, maybe...

5. kcsa75

kcsa75 Well-Known Member

Did the guy at Autozone tell you that? Technically, there are no brake pads in this photo. You have brake shoes on the front and back of the spindle. They look like a "(" and ")".

The oval shaped device is the electric component that makes the shoes expand to slow you down.

6. WrkrBee

WrkrBee Well-Known Member

Does the Zerk fitting feed the hole on the end of the axle, right behind the Zerk fitting or is the hole for the cotter pin? Looks big for a cotter pin hole.

7. Bigantlers

Bigantlers Member