First Timer who needs some help!

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by Corey Sanchez, Jan 16, 2021.

1. Corey Sanchez

Corey Sanchez New Member

Howdy!

My wife and I just purchased a 1989 Coleman Laramie as our starter pop up. We are long time tenters who are excited about our new chapter. However, it didn't take long after getting her home before we knew we needed some help. Hence why I am here.

Our first issue is that upon getting her home we noticed a burn hole in the canvas from the interior light. This was not present when we first viewed it from our seller. Actually, the reason we bought her is that for her age the canvas was great and had probably been replaced.

I am trying to deduce the problem here. My first guess is that our seller had the light on when he cranked her down after showing it to us. It was plugged in in his shop and he did have the interior lights on when showing.

My second guess is more cynical. Obviously I am a novice at towing. It took a few tries to back her up in my driveway. I smelled some light burning which I thought was from my clutch in my Expedition. Seems likely. I really hope there is no way the interior lights could've come on from the trailer lights. That would be a rabbit hole issue.

If anyone has any experience with this and can help me solve this mystery, I would really appreciate it.

Happy Camping,
    Corey

2. Dingit

Dingit Well-Known Member

Find the galley kill switch and be sure it works. The switch cuts off power to lights when the galley is folded down to prevent stuff like this. They wear out or get removed...

Hope it's something that simple!

3. WrkrBee

WrkrBee Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

Or by-passed and jumped.

Corey Sanchez likes this.
  4. tombiasi

tombiasi Well-Known Member

Then switch to LEDs.

5. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah Gold Supporting Member