Furnace and lp detector not working in 2008 Viking pop up

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by k.kanitz08, Jun 8, 2021.

  1. k.kanitz08

    k.kanitz08 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    My wife and I bought a 2008 pop up last year and used the furnace-- everything worked up until we took it out this year and couldn't get heat going... I replaced every fuse in the box, along with wiring a new lp detector in but still nothing. The battery has a good charge, the fuses have been swapped out, new lp sensor and even tried connecting to shore to be sure. The stove lights, so there is definitely propane flowing. However the pilot on the thermostat as well as the furnace blower and lp detection are failing to work. Any ideas?
     
  2. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    pilot on thermostat ??? Please explain what this is.

    Popup thermostats are usually simple devices, no pilot anything.
     
  3. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    IF at least 2 devices fail to work, you have a bad common connection. Check your rats nest of wire nutted wires (I assume the worst) behind the "converter"
     
    Raycfe likes this.
  4. k.kanitz08

    k.kanitz08 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    Pilot just meaning the tell tale "click" the furnace should make before kicking the blower on. And while I replaced the lp detector I did look around for any loose or detached wires and there were none.
     
  5. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    17,424
    Likes Received:
    2,984
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    Sounds like you lost 12 volt power
     
  6. k.kanitz08

    k.kanitz08 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    Nope, all other power works and I tested shore power to be sure it wasn't a battery issue. I also swapped out batteries as a last ditch attempt.
     
  7. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    17,424
    Likes Received:
    2,984
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    Your LP sensor is directly wired to 12 VDC. ........ so you should have 12 volts to it and a ground. Maybe you have the wires to it reversed?
     
  8. MohicanJeff

    MohicanJeff New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    There is typically a blade type fuse on the positive battery cable. Not sure if you know about that one.
     
  9. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    the OP said that all the other power works - so its not your blade fuse.
     
  10. k.kanitz08

    k.kanitz08 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    I replaced the lp detector after the old one hadn't been working either. Not even a low power light came on and like I said we had it up and running last year no problem.
     
  11. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    17,424
    Likes Received:
    2,984
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    I would check for power and ground and the connections to the correct wires as a place to start.

    Its like you are driving down the road and your car stops running ....... do you replace the engine or check the fuel level first.
     
  12. k.kanitz08

    k.kanitz08 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    I guess we're just at a loss here... The wires all appear to be correct (I made sure to tighten all nuts and rewire the lp. Not sure if there's some kind of connection I'm missing but every wire I saw I followed to its connection to be sure nothing got pulled.
     
  13. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    Finally - a worthy mystery (topic). Sounds like you checked the relevant items, thus the mystery deepens.

    By any chance did the manufacturer wire these two items to the circuit that is controlled by the roof up/down kill switch - and the switch went bad? (yes, I am grasping at straws)
     
  14. Anthony Hitchings

    Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Location:
    Oakland, California
    One other idea - undo the wire nuts that connect these items to their + and - power source leads, and then reinstall the wire nuts after checking the twisted conductors that were inside the wire nut.
     
  15. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,317
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    Did you replace the lp detector before the furnace stoped working? If so i would start there.
     
  16. RichRL

    RichRL New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    If you have a 12-volt test light or a multimeter check the fuse socket for that circuit to see if power is getting to it. Do you know if the furnace and the detector are on the same circuit?
     
    Raycfe likes this.
  17. Clemens

    Clemens Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Location:
    FL - Florida
    Safety switch under the sink. It disables the power to furnace and overhead lights. Only when the sink is in place that power should be there.
     
  18. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,317
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    But the lp detecters that i have sceen are always on there own circuit. Not conected to the disconect. Unless someone redid it.
     
    Raycfe likes this.
  19. SteveP

    SteveP Well-Known Member Platinum Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    834
    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Mine is on the same circuit with the lights and water pump but wired in before the safety switch.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2021 at 12:33 PM
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  20. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,317
    Likes Received:
    6,714
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    Ah , that make more sense.
     

Share This Page