Furnace blower won’t turn on

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Mwbaker0729, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    I have a 1989 Coleman Chesapeake and I think I lit the furnace in the wrong order. It ran for a few minutes and then **** off. The pilot light was still lit but the blower never turned back on, then I read the manual and saw that the blower needs to be running first before you light it. After following the instructions in the manual, the blower does not turn on at all. I need help.
     
  2. nineoaks2004

    nineoaks2004 Every meal is a picnic and every Day is a holiday

    Messages:
    7,312
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Dukes, Fl
    The outside temp might be to high for it to run. You might have to jumper the thermostat to get it to run.
     
    PopUpSteve likes this.
  3. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    The outside temp was below 60. When I followed the instructions it said to turn it on and set temp all the way up and wait for blower to turn on before lightning the pilot. It never turned on.
     
  4. nineoaks2004

    nineoaks2004 Every meal is a picnic and every Day is a holiday

    Messages:
    7,312
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Location:
    Dukes, Fl
    Could be air in the lines too and might take awhile to clear the air, another thing to check is the sail switch, ( I have worked on a few of them that had a dirt dobber nest on the blade and will not open up with the extra weight.
     
  5. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    The system was already running for the stove and fridge, so I don’t think there was air in the lines. My brother in law and I took the furnace apart before initially lighting it and did a good cleaning. Where is the sail switch? Is there any type of safety reset button on the furnace itself anywhere?
     
  6. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    18,907
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Is there a separate start button for your furnace?

    All the ones I've dealt with need:
    • Power in the form of Battery (DC) or Shore Power (AC).
    • Propane to be on
    • The Thermostat to be set to the desired temperature.
    • And the Thermostat turned ON.
    As stated above, if the current temperature around the Thermostat is higher than the set temperature, the furnace will not light.
     
  7. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    18,907
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    There could also be a blockage in the line for the furnace. Spiders love getting into the jet opening.
     
  8. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    My unit has a converter for 12v or 110. I had it hooked up to 110 this last weekend. I am not sure if the exact temp at the time I was trying to light it, but I know it was chilly. In the 50’s
     
  9. tombiasi

    tombiasi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,343
    Likes Received:
    980
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Northwestern New Jersey
    Some units shut down if there is a problem and won't restart for a specific amount of time.
     
  10. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    18,907
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Can you hear the heater "clicking" but the blower doesn't come on?
     
  11. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    I waited until the the next night, last night to start the furnace again. The blower never turned on.
     
  12. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    I did not check for that. I don’t understand why the blower wouldn’t even turn on though
     
  13. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    It is a Hydro flame Everest Star 79/80 series furnace
     
  14. tombiasi

    tombiasi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,343
    Likes Received:
    980
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Northwestern New Jersey
    You need to check DC power to the unit. Fuse?
     
  15. Mwbaker0729

    Mwbaker0729 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Location:
    Coeurdalene ID
    The manual for the furnace says that there is a circuit breaker button on the front of the furnace. I am going to check that.
     
  16. jnc

    jnc Welcome from New Hampshire

    Messages:
    3,921
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Location:
    South Central New Hampshire
    I would check the little switch on the thermostat. They are a pain to move and you may not have it turned on all the way.
     
  17. joet

    joet Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,702
    Likes Received:
    926
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    Elkins WV area
    Put a jumper on the T-stat. This eliminates that question
     
  18. tfischer

    tfischer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Location:
    Plymouth (Minneapolis) Minnesota
    Something is off here that nobody has mentioned yet. You mention lighting pilot lights, etc... but this heater (and every RV heater I know of) doesn't use a pilot light... it uses an electric spark to light the gas every time the t-stat calls for heat.
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  19. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    2,341
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    Good point!
    Some have an on off switch on the bottem of the thermostat. People miss it because it's so low to the ground. I think mine might have a switch on the inside of the heater for the blower.
     
  20. tenttrailer

    tenttrailer Art & Joyce - Columbus, O

    Messages:
    3,165
    Likes Received:
    300
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Thornville, OH
    Many furnaces, if the furnace tries to light but does not light, it goes into a lockout mode and it will do nothen after that. You might need to turn the on/off thermostat switch to off for about 10 seconds before trying it again.

    But it should not mater if the pilot is on, if you have a manual pilot light? Have not seen a manual pilot light on the camper since a 1977 camper. Are you sure its manual??

    The furnace will not light if the battery voltage is to low. But many times the fan will run, but the furnace will not light. It has to do with the control board needs a minimum voltage.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.