Generac GP 3300 (Generator) how to connect to my 30 amp pup power supply cord?

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Backtonature, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    HI! I'm trying to figure out how to connect to my 30 amp pup (2005 Fleetwood Bayside) power supply cord to my Generac GP3300 generator?

    I have a picture of the face panel and per the manual...the round port is listed as a..

    20 Amp 240-Volt to 30 Amp 240-Volt Outlet, which I'm supposed to have a *twist lock*(for the generator) outlet adapter for this to power my 30 amp pups electrical circuit...

    I don't have the adapter for this port on the Generac and my pups 30 amp male terminals have the 3 prong end.

    my questions are
    where do I get the correct twist lock adapter?
    How can 20 amps power a 30 amp pup?

    I want to use the generator to test my Mach 13,000 BTU ac
    (I had to remove the ac before I repaired the roof, now i have the AC remounted and are going to wire it back to the 20 amp power cord) after I get it wired back up.

    Thanks for any input. I appreciate it
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2020
  2. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
  3. tombiasi

    tombiasi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,942
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Northwestern New Jersey
    BTW: Your pup doesn't use 240 VAC.
    A 20 A. generator will not supply more than 20 Amps to your pup. If the generator provides 20 A. per leg you can make it work.
    What is the generator's output rating in continuous watts?
     
    Backtonature likes this.
  4. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    Key Specs
    Item# 56515
    Brand Generac
    Manufacturer's Warranty 2 years consumer use / 1 year commercial use
    Ship Weight 106.0 lbs
    Surge Watts 3,750
    Rated Watts 3,300
    Start Type Recoil
    Engine Generac OHV
    Engine Displacement (cc) 208
    Run Time 10 1/4 hrs. at 1/2 load
    Receptacles (qty.) (4) 120V 20A GFCI 5-20R, (1) 120/240V 20A L14-20R twist lock outlet
    Fuel Type Gasoline
    Fuel Capacity (gal.) 3.35
    Low Oil Shutdown Yes
    Battery Included No
    CARB Compliant Yes
    Dimensions L x W x H (in.) 24 1/5 x 22 1/2 x 21
    Product Weight (lbs.) 101.5
     
  5. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    439
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    Based on those specs, you will only get 20amps out of that generator max. You will be able to power most things but probably not at the same time as the A/C.
     
  6. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    maybe this pdf will have more info for you
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    Oh! crap!, well my ac has it's own cord with a 20 amp male terminals, so if I get a 20 amp twist adapter for the gen and a 20 amp cord with the correct male/female ends..I then could just plug the cord into the adapter and the other end to the ac cord? and the ac should work...
     
  8. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    535
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    N. TX
    the problem is the 14A circuit breakers and if there is enough surge capacity.
     
  9. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    439
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    Just because there are two different types of sockets, doesn’t mean that you can get twice the power. Generally you use one or the other type not both.
     
  10. tenttrailer

    tenttrailer Art & Joyce - Columbus, O

    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Thornville, OH
    Your popup is not 30A 240. It is 30A 120
     
  11. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    I get the 30 amp 120v, what I don’t get is the gen 20 amp to 30 amp adaptor plug-in and twist (into the 240v socket, so I can plug my pups 30 amp power cord into it... maybe that twist adapter only uses (1) hot leg for the 120v of the provided (2) hot legs that enable a 240v for a larger appliance such as a clothe dryer?

    I’m think maybe I’m on the right train of thought here or I’m totally off the train
     
  12. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    7,255
    Likes Received:
    535
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    N. TX
    (1) yes the adapter just uses one leg and is limited to 14a or in gen speak 3500/2 watts (125v). Of course high temp and altitude means even less!

    Reviews suggest it won't run your AC!

    wiring diagram suggests you can use the both legs on 120v by using different 120v outlets, 4 are tied to one breaker and the other 4 are tied to the other (both 14A). same with using 120v form the 240v outlet (14A) and another 14A from one set of 4 outlets. Not sure which 4 !
     
  13. tombiasi

    tombiasi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,942
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Northwestern New Jersey
    You are not going to run a clothes dryer with that.
     
  14. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    Oh! I know that. I was just using that for an example

    thanks
     
  15. Backtonature

    Backtonature Active Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Location:
    Fayetteville,GA
    I have decided I’m not going to run my AC off the Generator

    thanks for all your input
     

Share This Page