Generator to run fridge

Discussion in 'Taking Your Camper Off Road' started by SaltyGopher, Jul 8, 2021.

1. SaltyGopher

SaltyGopher Member

I cannot for the life of me get my fridge running on propane reliably, and am thinking it might be a good idea to get a small generator for when we’re in the mountains for 7 nights this summer.

I know this has been addressed before but most people are wanting to run a/c - we won’t be using that but do need the fridge and possibly the heater (I think it must use a little electricity?) I don’t care about phones or electronics as there’s no service anyway, and we have lots of battery powered lights.

Pardon my ignorance, I’m new to being the responsible one with this trailer thing!

2. SaltyGopher

SaltyGopher Member

Solar is also a possibility, but it seems to be a whole world of complication with hooking up, yes?

3. kennedyma

kennedyma Active Member Platinum Supporting Member

You wouldn't want to run your current fridge via Solar. You would spend way too much $$$ on it and the batteries required to run that type of fridge on DC electric.

One option though is to get a DC compressor style fridge. This is the one I have an have never looked back: https://www.mainlineoverland.com/pr...th-ice-maker-wifi-and-bluetooth-free-shipping

Depending on your current battery setup, you might also have to upgrade it as well. As you can see it gets costly.

Here is a handy calculator you can use to determine your power needs. It will let you know how long you can run stuff with different battery types.
    https://nomaticsupply.com/pages/battery-calculator

4. Anthony Hitchings

Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member

The Dometic propane frig uses more electricity (in 12V mode) than a convenient battery can store for 7 nights. A compressor type of frig/cooler (Engel) is more efficient, and would likely run off a 100 AH Renogy Lithium battery /($$$) or a fully charged Group 27 Marine battery - both with no solar - for at least half a week.