Good cordless drill that can be charged w/12v?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Repairs & Maintenance' started by Strut, Aug 21, 2014.

1. Strut

Strut Member

I'm looking for a good cordless drill to keep with the PUP for use with the stabilizers and other needs, maybe even lifting the roof. My Craftsman 19v handles the job no problem, but I really want to find something I can recharge via my 12v/solar system. I understand this means I'm probably stuck with a 12v tool, but I have no experience with them. Available torque is much more important for my needs than is battery life. Anyone out there have a good recommendation that may meet my needs?

Thanks in advance,

2. tfischer

tfischer Well-Known Member

I think you'd either need a 9V tool, or a charger that can step up the voltage from 12V. Batteries need a few volts higher than their rated voltage to charge.

3. Strut

Strut Member

I'll be using the same systems to charge a 12v tool as I use to charge the TV and PUP's 12v batteries.

4. Old_Geezer

Old_Geezer Well-Known Member

Dewalt makes 12V vehicle chargers for their tools that operate on different voltages.
    Dewalt makes a charger with a 12V cigarette lighter plug that charges their batteries from 7.2V to 18V, and another two specifically for their 12V and 12V+ 20V tools.

I use my 18V Bosch, and it has enough juice for an entire trip without a recharge as far as running my stabs up and down and any misc things I do with it at a campground.

5. Strut

Strut Member

Thanks, that Dewalt charger is just what I was looking for. I bet the voltage step up to charge the 18v batteries isn't very power efficient on a 12v system, but I doubt I find a 12v tool with the torque I need.

All of my Craftsman 18v batteries are on their last legs and won't hold a charge for any length of time. In all fairness though, they are 5 -8 years old. Craftsman doesn't make a 12v charger so I'm looking elsewhere.

6. RockyRoo

RockyRoo Just because you CAN doesn't mean you SHOULD