Have to sell our pop-up, desperately need advice

Discussion in 'For Sale and Wanted' started by FiveInAFlagstaff, Jan 23, 2020.

1. FiveInAFlagstaff

FiveInAFlagstaff Member

I’m so sad to write this post, but I need to sell our pop-up. I’ve never done this before and don’t want to misrepresent or make a mistake that will come back and bite me in the behind.
    It’s in very good condition, a couple of issues, but it could go camping this weekend if my husband hadn’t totaled our tow vehicle and bought a sports car instead. (Whole other story going on there...)
    It is a 2013 Forest River Flagstaff 228D MAC/LTD series. It has always been stored in our garage. There are a couple of minor repairs that may need to be done, but I'm not inclined to even try it. One of the steps to the bunk end needs to be fixed. It came loose on our last trip. It has a heater, heated mattresses, fridge, swing up galley with fridge, cassette toilet/shower, slide-out dinette, power lift, and 2-year-old marine battery. Used mostly locally, one fabulous trip to the Grand Canyon for a week, but never did get to take it to Yosemite or Redwoods.
    What is the best way to list it? RV Trader? Facebook Market? I tried to get a local RV dealer to put it on consignment, but they have too many pop-ups. NADA places used value at $7045, and we will be including over $750 of extras such as a BAL leveler, chocks, levels, supports, extra lamps, and fuses, and all those things that you end up buying for your popup like hoses, water regulator, etc. We also have a gray water collection tank with wheels. All manuals are in a three-ring binder, along with packing lists and menu planning sheets.
    Assume I know nothing about selling an RV because I pretty much don't. How much should I expect to get? How do I handle the transaction? The title is free and clear.
    Any advice or articles you can point me to would be much appreciated! Thank you.

2. Snow

Snow Well-Known Member