Heater not working... help!!! (Jayco Jay series 1206)

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Katybel123, Sep 26, 2019.

  1. Katybel123

    Katybel123 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    hey there!
    Trying to turn heater for the first time in 2010 Jayco Jay series 1206, have propane hooked up, thermostat is set to on, and temperature is high, and there is no sound have fan or any heat coming out.
    Do I have to do anything for propane other than turn top of propane tank on after connecting it to hose? In side panel it is set to Gas and High Cool....fridge also not working, but not sure how to turn that on either....no manual... please help!!
     
  2. bols2Dawall

    bols2Dawall S.W. Ontario

    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    Lasalle Ontario
    Battery is fully charged ? Fuses or Breakers all good ?
     
  3. Katybel123

    Katybel123 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2019
    Don’t have a battery... just plugged in and have 2 propane tanks.... would fuses be lit up if not working? I took out fuse for furnace, then put back in... it lit up when I took it out, then light went off when put back. Here is quiet buzzing noise from fuse box area
     
  4. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    6,695
    Likes Received:
    299
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    TX
    I'd take the grill(e) off the furnace and turn to switch to on or reset if it is off. Then I would find its make/model.

    [​IMG]
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  5. wmadoty

    wmadoty Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Make sure you have the furnace turned on. There should be a switch on top of the thermostat. It is small lever on most models. It can be very hard to move. I thought I was going to break mine the first time I turned it on. Move the lever to the on position (left on mine) and crank the thermostat up after you turn the gas on. The fan should blow and the heater should light.
     
  6. neighbormike

    neighbormike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Location:
    WI
    This sounds like your refrigerator controls. You have your fridge set to gas. Try on 110. Do as @wmadoty states for the furnace.
     
  7. billbillbillbill

    billbillbillbill Active Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    If you hear the click of the thermostat when you turn it up, it should be sending the signal. Some furnaces have a reset button or switch that has to be pushed. I had to take the grate off to find it.
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  8. neighbormike

    neighbormike Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Location:
    WI
    You can also jumper the thermostat wires together to eliminate a possible bad thermostat.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.