Help please!

Discussion in 'Wiring' started by RSH, Jan 3, 2016.

1. RSH

RSH Member

Hi all. I pulled into our campsite last night (2008 Fleetwood Utah) and set up only to find the electrical system doesn't work. It worked fine last weekend. I plugged the camper cord into the 30 amp outlet and the lights flickered, and then everything went dark. No breakers were thrown either in the camper or on the post. Well, I flipped the 30 amp breaker on the post, flipped it back on, and the same thing happened. Again, and again. Lights flicker and then go dark. No breakers thrown. So I put a 20 amp adapter on my 30 amp cord and plugged into the 20 amp socket. Same darn thing happened. I looked under the trailer to make sure the chassis ground wire was tight and it was. I'm not an electrician so I haven't messed with anything else. Any ideas? Thanks, Robert

2. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

I'm not electrical savy myself so can't help with your problem. If you have a heavy Gage electrical cord with you that's long enough, you could try and see what happens if you use your neighbors post. At least to narrow things down a little more. A multimeter will probably also be very helpful if you have one. I have been to many campgrounds where the campground posts are the problem so first want to rule that out. Good luck, I'm sure someone else here could help more.

3. TRR

TRR Active Member

Do the 110v outlets in the camper work when you plug something in? If so, that might indicate an issue with your 12v converter. Your lights are 12v. Check the 12v fuses. Also check the wires that run up to through the canvas to the ceiling. The connection there may simply be loose.

4. rabird

rabird Howdy!

use a corded appliance in the PU to determine if the 120v outlets work while the PU is plugged into shore power, if they do then move on to the 12v side, kill switch under sink (IIRC, the porch light is not wired to the kill switch), wires/plug running up to roof, ...