help with pop up door?

Discussion in 'General Camper Setup / Take Down' started by Patti Patton, Mar 17, 2017.

1. Patti Patton

Patti Patton New Member

I am new to pop up camping and am old, no upper body strength, usually travel alone. I have a TERRIBLE time getting the door up when it's time to pack up and go home! I have an electric lift for the roof, hydraulic jack for the beds and can manage getting the poles in for the roofs over the bed, but I cannot get the dang door up! Any hints?

2. kitphantom

kitphantom Well-Known Member

Welcome from NM.
    What pup do you have? (Hint, if you add the make, model, and year of your camper, to your signature line, it will help the rest of us. Do that by hovering over your screen name at the upper right, go to "signature".)
    I solo camp quite a bit. Our 2010 Coleman Cobalt had the type of door that stored on the ceiling, and had a track with guide wires. I had to develop a routine that made it easier to stow the door. Keeping those tracks lubed with a dry lube, holding the door in the correct place (about mid-way) and a couple of other things all helped.

3. doggirl

doggirl Member

Kitphantom, I'm interested in the dry lube you mention. Any idea if that would be adequate/appropriate for the - what do you call them - the roof lift support bars?

4. kitphantom

Again, it would be helpful to know what pup you have, and the type of lifters. We never had one with an electric lift, but the lifting mechanism might be the same. Some use a lube with silicone - you have to shield the canvas so that it does not get on the tenting. I was not happy when we had ours repaired and the dealer - not our current one for the TT - did not shield the canvas and we had stains the rest of the time we owned it.
    Right now, we have a couple of spray lubes with Teflon in them. I just bought one with silicone, it's out in the TT, I think most are Liquid Wrench or similar brands.