How far do you usually drive in a day

Discussion in 'Campground / Trip Planning & Suggestions ?' started by Spawndn72, Aug 30, 2016.

1. Spawndn72

Spawndn72 Member

We are planning a trip to Custer state park in South Dakota which according to google maps is 18 hours and 35 minutes from my front door. I am thinking I can make it halfway one day and the rest of the way the next. Basically 10 hours of driving each day. Does that sound reasonable? I have driven 13 hours to Florida multiple times, but never pulling a camper.

I have a 2015 Ford F150 pulling a 3200 lb popup. My parents will be going with us and will be in a Class C pulling a Honda CRV.

2. tombiasi

tombiasi Well-Known Member

Not to sound nasty but why does it matter what other people can drive in a day?
    What's important is what you can you do in a day.

3. Spawndn72

Spawndn72 Member

Because I am new to camping and towing and don't know what is reasonable and what is not. Generally things like this follow a bell curve, if my expectations fall significantly outside the curve, then I will know to adjust my expectations.

4. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

I thought I read somewhere where you don't want to put much more than 8 hours on the popup tires. As they can overheat or something like that. I can't remember where I read that, but it made since thinking the popup tires would make more rotations vrs your TV. I personally think breaking up the trip they way you plan should work. If you give the tires a bit of a cool down period. When hauling the trailer I have not taken it on longer than 8 hour trips yet.

5. JustRelax

JustRelax Active Member

I would personally plan on one overnight stay around halfway. Are you planning to camp or hotel for the overnight? If you plan to camp you may need to hit a scheduled stop and need time to "setup". If it's a hotel you can drive on over half way if you still feel fine to shorten the drive on the day you set up at the end destination.