I see the pump, but don't see the hose for winterizing. Hmm.

Discussion in 'Camper Storage / Winterizing & De-Winterizing' started by MIlover, Oct 11, 2014.

1. MIlover

MIlover Member

Hello all,

This is my first time winterizing a pup and Mother Nature has turned it into a rush job with these recent cold temps!

I watched PcKeen's recent video about winterizing his Fleetwood Utah, and it was helpful. I have a clear idea of what needs to be done, and in what order. But...our 2008 Utah doesn't have the convenient hose attached to the pump for winterizing purposes. Here is a photo:

[​IMG]

I believe the white hose on the left is what should be disconnected, so that another hose can connect to the pump and siphon antifreeze into the system, correct?

I've also read that the commonly used winterizing kits aren't well-suited for the Utah pumps, due to the tight space. Do others find that to be the case? If so, what is an easy fix? And while we're at it, is that white, cup-like thing on the pump the strainer? I'd like to remove and clean it since I have the area opened up.

Last but not least, the P.O. of our pup mentioned that he bypassed the fresh water tank for winterizing, but I think he did so from outside the pup. I don't see any mods to the outside water lines though, so am not sure how he would have done that.

As always, your help is appreciated!

2. swordfish

swordfish Well-Known Member

Here are some discussions for you to read.
    http://www.popupportal.com/index.php?topic=88156.15
    I have done mine by blowing out all the water from the city water inlet port. No antifreeze this year.
    Do you have an air-compressor?

"bypass fresh water tank" means you don't put antifreeze in the tank. Crawl under the pup and undo the valve to drain all the water. Any residual water will do no harm. Do you have a hot water tank? Drain that, too. No antifreeze.