idea - Bringing pup into the digital age

Discussion in 'Campsite Electronics' started by screwballl, Aug 27, 2009.

1. screwballl

screwballl Stimulus Package

As I am a computer tech, I have been tossing around ideas in my head for our pup.
    One is to buy/build a small low profile computer that can be mounted somewhere unused under the counter, and add an FM tuner, a DTV tuner, a DVD drive and a wireless mouse/keyboard that can stash somewhere hidden to keep the little ones out of it. I would mount 2-4 speakers in the pup so we have sound for everything. Since many of the tuner cards handle FM, AM, DTV and more, I could get away with one card for the TV and radio, and it would use the same antenna. I could mount the disc drive somewhere accessible and just run the SATA/power cords with an extension (or just use it with the eSATA setup), this would allow for playing CDs and DVDs.
    The only hitch in my case would be where to mount the LCD as when the pup is closed, it is very tight quarters in there... may have to just mount it to the counter top with a slide down into the counter when it is not used...

This would mean we would not need to bring a TV, DVD player, mount a car stereo and so on since it would all be in one box.

Here is one setup for the prebuilt mini-PCs I may be looking into:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883228013

The problem with most of these ultra-portable mini-desktops would be that I would need an external disc drive and an external USB style DTV/FM card.

edit: here is one with an included internal drive and a PCI slot for a potential low profile DTV/FM card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883114074

Like I said, just some ideas.

Has anyone else done anything close to this before?

2. mostlyok

mostlyok We're Mostly OK!