Installing A/C unit

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Adam Metoxen, Sep 6, 2018.

  1. Adam Metoxen

    Adam Metoxen New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    It's done. Thanks for the ideas. One more thing. What amp cord should I use?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. emoney

    emoney Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    20 amp, if you’re asking about for the AC unit itself. Needs it’s own circuit in the converter also
     
    Orchid likes this.
  3. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    Now that wasn't a bad job .....was it?
     
  4. Adam Metoxen

    Adam Metoxen New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    I'm plugging it in the outlet next to the converter. Do I still need a 20amp cord?
     
  5. emoney

    emoney Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    It should have come wired with a 20 amp plug so if that’s what the receptacle is then it was dedicated for it. You still need to make sure you’ve got a 20 amp circuit. It will run on 15amp but you can damage the unit by doing so.
     
  6. Adam Metoxen

    Adam Metoxen New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Mine did not come with a cord
     
  7. Orchid

    Orchid Sharp Shootin' Grandma

    Messages:
    5,333
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Florida by way of WV and MD
    When I replaced the cord on mine, I bought this. Because it runs across the ceiling and then just hangs inside the camper, I wanted the extra insulation around it, as opposed to just buying regular wiring. You may be able to buy this extra insulated type wire in a hardware store and then just wire on the plug, but I couldn't find it.
     
  8. emoney

    emoney Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    450
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Usually the plug for the AC is found under the dinette bear the converter. It’s a sideways prong plus which won’t allow you to plug into a standar outlet. You can pick the outlet up at HD or Lowe’s. But it will need to be installed into that 20 amp circuit. If you do already have that, you may already have the outlet?
     
  9. Nasteff

    Nasteff New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Looks nice, any pics of the install process?
     
  10. Trvmtchll

    Trvmtchll New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    So your saying if I have a roof vent in my camper it has built in brace? I’m looking to install AC on my 1999 JAYCO Eagle 12SO
     
  11. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    Yep.... If you have a 14x14 vent..... put it in the hole and plug it in.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.