Interior Modifications Do's & Don'ts

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by CatzWilson, Mar 21, 2019.

Tags:
  1. CatzWilson

CatzWilson New Member

Hello, I'm new to the modifications that can be made to my Jayco Sport Series 10SD PUP. Been looking for some advise or somebody that has modified that slope at the foot of each bed. I wished Jayco would have made a boxed step so I could step up onto the bed more easily. I'd like to get out of bed without feeling I'm going to bust the paneling there.... does anyone else have this trouble or a fix? Any suggestions or videos out there as to make a step there would be great!

arge likes this.
  2. Mat Kyne

Mat Kyne Member

My pop-up (Rockwood 1640 LTD) had a step built in for the front bunk but not for the back bunt, you know, where the kids sleep. So I added one. I made the top removable to create a little storage space for flip-flops. The front step is so flimsy compared to the one I built I plan or replacing the front one. The basic procedure was to measure the space for the step and allow for a lot of clearance as the walls/cabinets are not straight. I added two supports on either side. Pro-Tip: they are mounted from the inside of the cabinets so that I could screw into real wood (my supports). I added a kick plate/front support to enclose the box. For the step itself, I used a stair tread from Home Depot (about $12), stained and then several coats of polyurethane. Below is a link to my album of camper modifications. The step is shown in there.
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/XC22NuQCCqYrfJ4XA

3. CatzWilson

CatzWilson New Member

Oh wow, thanks! it's exactly what I needed! Great mods. :)

Mat Kyne likes this.
  4. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

. The funny thing about this, my 1990 Jayco did have a boxed step. Don't know why they wanted to change the design.

HappyTraveler and Mat Kyne like this.
  5. neighbormike

neighbormike Well-Known Member