Just bought a TV Tuner for my laptop

Discussion in 'Campsite Electronics' started by Chewie48, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Chewie48

    Chewie48 New Member

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Columbiana, OH
    I was bouncing the idea around of either getting a small LCD TV for the PUP or buying a TV Tuner for my laptop. Well, since the laptop already has a dvd player in it, I decided to get the TV Tuner. I bought the Hauppauge 950Q.

    I installed it and hooked up the antenna that came with it and it picked up about 12 digital channels. I then hooked it up to a small powered antenna that I already had and it picked up 16 channels. The software sucks but is usable. I only plan on using it if it rains or sometimes before bed.

    I think I made the right choice as this saved me around $200.00.

    My next thought is... Should I attempt an outdoor antenna mod?
     
  2. TwistedElvis

    TwistedElvis New Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So what tuner did you get?
     
  3. Chewie48

    Chewie48 New Member

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Columbiana, OH
     
  4. TwistedElvis

    TwistedElvis New Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Woops didn't see that thanks!
     
  5. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    Chewie, definitely try the outdoor antenna mod.

    I have a Pinnacle Ultimate HD stick. When it's hooked up to the cheesey antenna it came with, I get the same results as you. An amplified antenna gave me a few more. But, when I hooked it up to my rooftop mast antenna, it picked up everything!

    I use the Pinnacle software that came with my stick, but I also bought BlazeTV, which works better and is less of a strain on the computer.
     
  6. mtn_bikers

    mtn_bikers Northern NJ

    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Green Township, NJ
    We have the TV tuner on the laptop also, if you haven't thought of it already - pick up a set of small speakers. The built-ins on the laptop are really not loud enough when it is pouring rain outside and you are trying to watch a movie.

    Joe - what type of amplified antenna are you using? So far we've only used the cable connection, the reception with the antenna hasn't been that great.
     
  7. drosengrant

    drosengrant One Day at a Time

    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    Mine Hill NJ
    FYI : The digital signal does not have the distance of analog so reception will be based on how far you are from the transmiter. I am about 40 miles from NY city and we get no signal at all on digital and years ago with analog we did.
     
  8. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    Joe & Dawn, I tossed the amplified antenna, so I don't know what brand it was. It wasn't worth the hassle for 2 more stations. It's my old rooftop (house) antenna that works so well.
     
  9. bud121156

    bud121156 Western North Carolina

    Messages:
    4,632
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I dont have the tuner on the laptop, but we use a small television with a digital tuner.We are seeing that we get certain stations at some campgrounds, and different stations at other campgrounds, and the campgrounds are seperated by less than 30 miles....usually 8-10 channels at best.
    I sit the antenna on top of the pop up and run he wire thru a zipper.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    I have a Pinnacle HD stick and just use the cheap antenna that came with it . Like Donnie, I just stick it on the roof of the pup. I did, however, install an antenna input on the side of my pup so I don't have to go through the canvas. Works great!
     
  11. bud121156

    bud121156 Western North Carolina

    Messages:
    4,632
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    HEY Bruce, now theres another mod to work on......antenna input on the side of the pup!
     
  12. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    Joe mentioned that BlazeTV is a lighter weight program than Pinnacle's. I just tried it out and can say that I am impressed. It allows me to watch HD on my 2.19 ghz processor laptop. Definitely a keeper program! Thanks Joe!

    And Donnie, it is a cheap mod. The outside and inside plate set can be had for less than $10. I want to install a metal plate so that the magnet on the antenna will stick to it...
     
  13. Chewie48

    Chewie48 New Member

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Columbiana, OH
    Thanks for the BlazeTV suggestion. I'm definitely going to check it out. The software called "WinTV" that came with my tuner is terrible and is a huge resource hog. It seems to be pulling 80 to 90 percent of the CPU processing and is very cloogy (Computer Programming term for buggy).

    I think I'll look into the outdoor antenna mod. I make my DW nervous every time I mention doing something to the camper. [:D]
     
  14. dondford

    dondford New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    I have this tuner on the way; plan on using it with my laptop in my PU. I have read many posts complaining of the bundled software and are looking for a better choice. I have found BlazeVideo
    Blaze Video HDTV Player 3.5. Is this the BlazeTV you guys are referring to? If possible, please advise link for this software. Also, did you install the bundled software, than add blaze or installed only Blaze TV. How about the drivers.
    Any help appreciated.

    Don
     
  15. Xolthrax

    Xolthrax Franconia, Pa.

    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Franconia, Pa. Butter capital of the East
    I have both installed. I figured it was just easier to let the bundled software to load so I didn't accidentally miss something I needed. I have Blaze set as my default, however.

    I don't have the laptop fired up, but I think that is the version that I'm using.
     
  16. Krystilia

    Krystilia New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    I have just ordered this Pinnacle HD stick as well. Some reviews on the web say the software is good, some not. Why do you current owners think the software isn't good?
     
  17. Chewie48

    Chewie48 New Member

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Columbiana, OH
    I heard the Pinnacle software is better than the Hauppauge "WinTV" software that I have. The WinTV software is not intuitive and eats up too much of the processing power.
     
  18. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    The pinnacle software is a huge resource hog. Since the Pinnacle tv part is owned by Hauppauge, I don't expect the shipped software to be any better than Hauppauge's original software.
     
  19. bmb

    bmb New Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    York, PA
    I think it's more along the lines, digital TV is either all or nothing. Were as analog you might have gotten a horrible picture with static and bad audio, digital will be nothing. For me, I have found I get more channels from greater distance with DTV. Kind of like a CD vs Record... A really scratched up record you might get some noise out of, but a really scratched up CD will just result in an error message on the player.
     
  20. theseus

    theseus Centerville, OH

    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Centerville, OH
    An excellent description of the differences.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.