Large family wanting to get into camping

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by slavila, Feb 19, 2016.

1. slavila

slavila New Member

Hello! We are just in the beginning stages of researching RVing (well, I'm also still trying to convince my husband too [;)] )

We are a family of 9, soon to be 10, that are looking for an economical why to have family vacations, make fun memories, and explore our country. I'm starting with looking into PUPs as I don't think our current vehicle could tow a travel trailer. I also think starting with a PUP would be better than forking over more money for a trailer.

Any other large families camp in a PUP? Is it doable?

2. Wakita46

Wakita46 Active Member

I think that many people would be too many for any pup I have seen but I am no expert. Many camp grounds also have a limit as to how many people can be in a particular camp site. Having done a lot of camping - car camping, back packing, and pop up camping in over 30 states, I would suggest getting a couple of tents. Tents are economical - you don't have to get the fanciest ones. Sleeping bags are not expensive either unless you want a better quality for backpacking. Get a cook stove and some odds and ends and you are all set. You don't have the extra expense of a tow vehicle, either. It's also a way to try it out without breaking the bank and lets you see what is out there at different places you visit. Just my 2 cents.

3. money pit

money pit What could be so bad??? We are camping!!!