Lift Cable Snapped

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by ChenaPopup, Apr 11, 2018.

1. ChenaPopup

ChenaPopup New Member

Went out to open up the PUP to continue fixing the furnace when suddenly the lift cable snapped. I was able to keep cranking it, but one corner is sagging. I guess my questions are how difficult/easy would it be to attempt this fix myself? or should I bring it to a professional? Keep in mind this is my first PUP and I'm not very experienced fixing mechanical things. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. BelchFire

BelchFire I speak fluent vise-grip

Only you can determine your mechanical ability. This is a repair that many, many p'up owners have tacked by themselves. There are several good tutorials on how to do this on the portal. If you don't want to tackle it, you may have trouble finding someone to work on it as it's my understanding that most camper places don't want to work on p'ups and Fleetwood in particular has been out of business for a while. Personally, I'd go for it, but I'm an engineer, so it comes easy to me. Look for a PM from me; I have some documents to share that might be helpful if you want to try it yourself. Caveat; I've never done it ... only read about others doing it.

BTW, I'd be very careful lifting the roof with a broken cable. That puts all the additional stress and strain on the remaining cables and you'll likely snap another if you don't support the weight on the broken corner as the roof is going up/down.

ChenaPopup, J Starsky and Byrd_Huntr like this.
  3. Antipodes

Antipodes Call me Paul

As BelchFire has said!

4. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Ditto.

5. J Starsky

J Starsky Well-Known Member

Firstly, sorry this happened to you!
    You need to cut a 2x4 at the correct length to hold up that corner - don't go inside that thing without a support of some type. You should cut 4 of these so when you take the winch loose, they hold the roof up. Don't work alone, you'll need extra hands.