Lost my front storage lid!!!

Discussion in 'Camper Storage / Winterizing & De-Winterizing' started by Glitch11, May 13, 2020.

1. Glitch11

Glitch11 New Member

Hi all! I'm new to the RV world and just purchased a 1996 coleman yukon. On the ride to bring it home we lost the front storage lid. How can I (a not very handy person) make a makeshift one until i can find (afford) a suitable replacement

2. GreyFox

GreyFox Well-Known Member

Since you now own an orphan trailer that no longer has factory support the bigger question is where are you going to source a replacement lid? Coleman Popup Parts does sell a generic replacement but at $390 USD plus custom crating & shipping it won't be cheap solution, especially for a 25 yr old camper. [:O]

Glitch11 likes this.
  3. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Welcome.png

Not being handy is going to be the problem. Even with a new lid it will not be a simple bolt on.

Glitch11 likes this.
  4. JustRelax

JustRelax Well-Known Member

I’d start by retracing my trip home, it might be salvageable and likely still on the side of the road.

Glitch11, Orchid, Kampus and 3 others like this.
  5. Jimbow

Jimbow Well-Known Member

Well you have some choices based on your priorities. If you want secure, watertight, you will likely be paying more than you paid for the pup.

A tarp is probably not a good long term solution, especially when travelling down the road in the rain which will eventually happen.

Could you post a picture? I'm designing in my head a small bracket and metal roofing that would fit over and hopefully not catch the wind too bad. IIRC that compartment could leak into the flooring and cause a bigger issue.

Glitch11 likes this.
  6. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

You can possibly try and go to a junkyard to see if there if there is perhaps something there. Or see if someone is parting out a popup with a trunk.