My attempt to weigh the trailer - it begins

Discussion in 'Tow Vehicles, Hitch & Towing' started by Anthony Hitchings, Feb 14, 2020.

1. Anthony Hitchings

Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member

Key Materials needed: bridge-type strain gage load cell ($30), Digital volt meter (in hand), 12V source (easy) , a spreadsheet, two or threes temporary supports, a tape measure, maybe a couple of bolts (or not).

This should be very simple. Its using what I was taught over 5 decades ago (wheatstone bridge technique).

And yes, I am an Engineer (tho not electrical).

Stay tuned to see how it works out.

Attached Files:

2. NMroamer

NMroamer Well-Known Member

Familiar with the wheat stone bridge theory. Curious to see your data.

3. Anthony Hitchings

load cell is now on the premises :)

Attached Files:

4. Anthony Hitchings

so I tried using it to weight me - my DVM needs an extra digit - it is too coarse

see attached data

Tomorrow (Saturday) I will see if I can double the excitation(supply) voltage; I'm not sure that possible with the dual channel power supply in question, which I built decades ago (each channel is 0-15V, and today's test used only one channel).

I just now also ordered a 0-20 mA panel meter (analog) - that ill help me see where the low end readings really are.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  5. Anthony Hitchings

UPDATE (Saturday morning): for the test using just my clothed body weight, I doubled the excitation voltage to 30V, to make up , sort of, for the lack of sensitivity on my DVM. The resulting computed wight (165) is now closer to my actual weight (178) - though still limited by the lack of a 4th digit on my DVM. This DVM limit will be less significant when measuring the actual wheel loads. I can do the tongue weight using my more accurate digital bathroom scale.

Attached Files:

6. tombiasi

tombiasi Well-Known Member