"My folks" want me to bring my PUP!

Discussion in 'Camping for the Medically/Physically Challenged' started by sandyaker, Sep 21, 2009.

1. sandyaker

sandyaker Rock Hill, SC

For those that don't know me, I work in the recreation field programming activities for folks with disabilities. Most of the people I work with are mentally disabled. Although most have some sort of physical disability as well. We run everything from our local Special Olympics events to arts and crafts programs to CAMPING! Yes, I sometimes get paid to camp!

Anyway, to the reason I'm posting...
    We are taking a group of mentally disabled adults camping in a couple of weeks. Our trips have always been with tents at established campgrounds. (Read that as..the girls have to at least have a bathroom.) I few of them have been bugging us about our next trip so we scheduled the one in a couple of weeks.
    Now for the funny part.
    Since I've now bought a PUP since our last trip together (and none of them have seen it), a few of them are now bugging me to take my PUP on this trip. They don't care about sleeping in it, as they know it would not hold everyone. We usually take around 12-15 people on the trips. They just want me to bring it so they can see it set up and see what the big deal is. It will cause a little trouble with logistics as I have to transport all of them and their gear in one of our department buses but I think I can work it out by taking the PUP down the day before and returning to get them. Of course, I will have to reverse that on the way back by bringing them home and then going back to get the PUP.

It will cause a little extra work to bring the PUP but I think it may be worth it. I can see a couple of them really getting into the whole PUP thing.

Scott

2. bud121156

bud121156 Western North Carolina

Where you taking 'um Scott?

3. sandyaker

sandyaker Rock Hill, SC

We're just taking a one nighter [:(] down to Chester State Park.