Need help cutting out a 14x14

Discussion in 'Heating / Cooling Systems' started by Initi8r, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Initi8r

Initi8r New Member

I tried searching in the heating and cooling forum, as well as Google and YouTube, no luck. Is there anywhere a tutorial on how to cut out a 14x14 hole in my roof to install the A/C? I have the 4 markers set up on the inside of the roof already. There's a PDF file here on the forum that says to drill with a small bit first, then use 1/2 inch drill and drill out bigger holes, then use medium blade jig saw and cut from middle of each hole connecting all 4, hence creating a square with rounded edges vs straight corners. My question is this, if the markers are already at 14x14 distance, and I drill with a 1/2 in the middle of it, won't that add an extra 1/4 inch outward to each side of the marker ? Making the hole bigger. I'm a camper newbie, just got [SUN] few months ago, thanks to this site already experimented with a lot of projects, this one seems to be the scariest for me. Any help especially pictures would be greatly appreciated

2. mdigby

mdigby New Member

You have the corners marked. Are the markers through the outside also? If not use a small bit ( 3/16 or 1/4) to drill the corner holes.

Then use a 1/2 bit to drill near where the center of the opening (square) will be.

Lastly use a jig saw (or a scroll saw) to cut the roof, following the lines you marked connecting the corner markers. Begin the cuts in the center 1/2 hole you drilled.

If you are uncomfortable or have not used a jig saw before, you might want to find someone who is experienced to do this.
    It is doable, but you don't want to make the hole too big.

3. Initi8r

Initi8r New Member

So 3/16 or 1/4 will be enough of a diameter to make the curved corners ? I think your method makes more sense then the PDFs instructions, will try, thanks.

4. mdigby

mdigby New Member