New pop up owner with ceiling/roof issues

Discussion in 'First Time & New Camper Owners' started by ziekers03, Aug 10, 2016.

1. ziekers03

ziekers03 New Member

Hello!

I'm new to owning a pop up and just purchased a 1989 Valor on a whim. My husband wants no part in renovating it, so I'm on my own! I recently discovered some damaged parts in the ceiling and have pulled down the ceiling paper and some wood in two corners, the rest seems ok. I'm curious what my best options are for cleaning, repairing, etc? (I'm not the handiest person in the world, although the least either so easier options are preferred). Thanks!!!!

Attached Files:

2. Dubbya

Dubbya Wherever you go, there you are...

Based on the location of the water damage, I'd suspect that the outside corner is leaking and that the sideboard and attached end boards are rotted. Ergo, you've got yourself a dilly of a pickle right there.

I can't find any pics of your camper, so it's pretty tough to provide any suggestions other than to make use of the Search link in the forum menu with the search term "1989 roof rebuild" to find threads that might provide a degree of insight.

You should be able to find a thread where the roof is constructed similarly to yours.

3. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

If the ceiling/roof is spongy then you got roof rot. Which is a very involved repair/redo job. If it's not spongy then you first need to make sure the leak(s) have been fixed. Re-caulk all seams on the roof. Not much you can do to repair the damage done without a long drawnout roof repair job, just monitor to make sure it doesn't get worse. Some have re-papered the roof to make it a little more presentable. However the internal damage you can't really fix easily.

4. ziekers03

ziekers03 New Member