No Lights Inside

Discussion in 'Wiring' started by Arkansascorey, Aug 1, 2019.

  1. Arkansascorey

    Arkansascorey New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I know that I screwed up somewhere, just don’t know exactly what I need to have fixed. On my recent camping trip I was turning on my 3-way fridge thinking I was turning it on the shore power switch. Little did I know I realized I flipped the red switch for 12V and my battery isnt hooked up. I think something bad happened when the lights inside went off and so did my carbon monoxide detector. I checked for blown fuses, everything looks good. Outlets in the pup work fine and so does A/C. What did I do??
     
  2. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,350
    Likes Received:
    2,178
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    Check the fuses.
     
  3. PopUpSteve

    PopUpSteve Administrator

    Messages:
    18,809
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Location:
    Malvern, PA
    Kill switch stuck?
     
    myride likes this.
  4. Arkansascorey

    Arkansascorey New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I don’t think I have an actual switch I just have a cord I have to connect under the sink
     
  5. myride

    myride Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    388
    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hmmmmm......doesn't sound right to me......but can't say for sure. When it happened to me it was a sticky switch.
     
  6. Raycfe

    Raycfe Waterford Ct.

    Messages:
    15,096
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Waterford, Ct
    You overloaded the convertor ........ should be a fuse somewhere on it.
     
    Arkansascorey likes this.
  7. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,350
    Likes Received:
    2,178
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    Sometimes the fuses don't look blown but are. I would just replace them first. Then go from there.
     
    Arkansascorey likes this.
  8. Arkansascorey

    Arkansascorey New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I will try this! Thanks
     
  9. Arkansascorey

    Arkansascorey New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Hope I don’t need a new converter!
     
  10. SteveP

    SteveP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    397
    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    You'll need a multimeter. Plug in the camper. Set the multimeter for the 20 volt DC range and connect the probes to the battery positive and negative wires. If you see less than 13.2 volts the converter is not providing power. Some of the older converters had internal glass tube fuses soldered in place, if you want to look for and deal with that.

    If you see voltage you'll need to check the amps. Move the positive probe to the 10 Amp connection and set the dial to the 10 Amp setting. And touch the wires again. You need to be very quick about this because the probe wires on the multimeter will heat up quickly if there's any current. And if the current is more than 10 Amps you will have to replace the fuse in the multimeter.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.