Northern Arizona Wind & Sun 140W solar kit

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by BajaPup, May 14, 2012.

1. BajaPup

BajaPup New Member

RV/Marine Kit With Kyocera 140 Watt Module
    http://www.solar-electric.com/rvkitwi140wa.html

Does anyone have experience with this kit? Is it good gear at a fair price?

I'm new to campers, but I take several camping trips a year. I don't like crowds, I don't want a generator, and I enjoy projects like this. My 2009 Coleman Yuma has a forced air furnace, which is the main power consumer. I take winter trips to Colorado, and my family apparently gets cold at night during summer trips to the mountains, so having enough power for the furnace blower is my main concern.

I'll try taking the cheap road for a battery, at least at first. A local distribution hub usually has good deals on batteries with minor cosmetic damage from shipping, and that's a lot more affordable than some of the fancy AGM batteries.

2. Spridle

Spridle Well-Known Member

The furnace itself is rated at 3A. Many people will suggest 2 Trojan T105 6V batteries in series. I was looking at the specs of these over the weekend and couldn't quite correlate the numbers to my Interstate deep cycle marine battery but this setup does appear to have substantially more than twice the capacity of two standard 12V batteries and should last much longer than than the standard battery. You get what you pay for. For your application I would think you will get five to eight days on just battery with no solar. A more modest 80watt panel to top things off for the day would likely keep you going indefinitely. This is all assuming you are just looking to keep the chill out of the camper at night, as opposed to keep it at 70F 24/7.

3. BajaPup

BajaPup New Member

Thanks for helping me think this through.