Obsolete, full propane tank

Discussion in 'Propane - Got Gas' started by heathdavis, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. heathdavis

    heathdavis New Member

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    We have an ancient rusty propane tank of the old style, which means it is at least 13 years old. It is too heavy for me to lift (and I'm pretty strong for a girl), so it is probably full or nearly so.

    We will exchange it for a new one but... should we use the propane first? DH is afraid it will be contaminated and ruin his bbq or whatever else we use it for. (Not in the pup, yet, until it gets cold) This seems like a waste, but I said "OK, then put it in the back of my car and I'll go exchange it". Can't get him motivated to do that.

    Should I: 1. Convince him to use up the propane in it
    2. Wait for a windy day and slowly vent off the propane so I can lift the tank.
    3. Kick his a** until he puts it in my car
    [?]
     
  2. Yellowkayak

    Yellowkayak Popups.....when sleeping on the ground gets to you

    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Use it up...grill alot of burgers, steaks and hotdogs. Or you can slow cook a large briscuit wrapped in tin foil for about 10 hours on the grill on low. That should use up just about all the propane.

    JJ
     
  3. Flyfisherman

    Flyfisherman New Member

    Messages:
    3,682
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    Shallotte, North Carolina
    Yeah ... run it through the BBQ, then exchange the old tank. Use the good, fresh stuff in the camper!
     
  4. Unstable_Tripod

    Unstable_Tripod Well, there's your problem!

    Messages:
    14,279
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    I agree: use the propane.
     
  5. freenaz

    freenaz Member

    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    I say use it up.
    Contaminated?
     
  6. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    489
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    N. TX
    If it doesn't have ACME threads for a modern grill to connect to then just exchange it (full or empty). If you have a way to connect to it use it up.
     
  7. electronflux

    electronflux Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    use it.

    I don't see how it could be contaminated...gas is, well, gas
     
  8. cwolfman13

    cwolfman13 Active Member

    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Never heard of gas getting contaminated or otherwise expiring.....use up the gas then exchange that tank for a nice new one you can re-fill.
     
  9. fmbhappycamper

    fmbhappycamper PuP Power

    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    make sure the bottom will hold it upright or is it rusted out? [!]
     
  10. screwballl

    screwballl Stimulus Package

    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    agreed. You may need to pick up an adapter at the local hardware store to hook it up to the grill. Gas is gas, the regulators and safety features of most newer grills will prevent any bad from happening, and the food will taste NO different.
     
  11. heathdavis

    heathdavis New Member

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    re: Contamination--- He's worried that there might be rust-dust in it from the inside of the cylinder and that it will clog up ports or whatever on the bbq. (I don't bbq. ) I don't know whether they rust on the inside-- seems unlikely.

    The cylinder seems solid, though completely rust-coated on the outside.
     
  12. Hacksaw

    Hacksaw Active Member

    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Cook with it.It will be fine.If there is rust on the inside it will not allow the gas to flow through the valve. Be aware that when "exchanging" it for a new tank it is against the law for them to accept any tank that is older than 12 years,does not have an OPD (triangle knob on top) or shows visible signs of damage including rust.
     
  13. rabird

    rabird Howdy!

    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    489
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    N. TX
    What do have that will connect to it?
     
  14. heathdavis

    heathdavis New Member

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Re: Obsolete, full propane tank PROBLEM SOLVED

    After reading Hacksaw's post, I decided to call around to check to see if anyone would take the cylinder. Somewhere I had gotten the idea that the propane exchange places were required to take old tanks.

    The person at Home Depot said "Well, actually it's self-serve. You swipe your credit card, put the old tank in one cage, and get a new one out of another cage. There aren't any humans involved so it doesn't matter". Good enough.

    Then DH came home. When I told him what the Home Depot lady said he threw the old tank in his truck and drove off to HD. He still refused to use up the old propane. I hate wasting things but at least we'll have a new tank.

    Thanks everyone for all your answers.
     
  15. dackley

    dackley 1999 Jayco Heritage Laurel with popout

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    COME ON THE TANK ONLY WEIGHS 28 LBS LOADED, YOUR PURSE WEIGHS MORE THAN THAT, TURN THE TANK ON ITS SIDE AND ROLL IT TO CAR, OPEN TRUNK HE WILLL HAVE TO DO IT THEN. IF NOT CALL ME IM IN ATLANTA, ( BUT I MOVED FROM MELBOURNE,FL IN 2007 (31 YRS)
     
  16. heathdavis

    heathdavis New Member

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Um, no, more than that-- and I can roll it but not lift it up high enough.
    See http://www.propane101.com/consumerpropanecylinders.htm

    Ha, you must not know bout me. [:D]
    (I hate purses.)

    [:D] Thanks but I got it covered (finally!)

    PS MODIFIED AT 7:28
    Well crap!! DH came back with the new cylinder and I can lift that one up with one hand! The antique must have been made of thicker metal. I'm not a wimp after all!! Yay!
     
  17. fix_it

    fix_it Member

    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    That is why I don't use the exchange places unless I have to. Those exchange places only fill their tanks 3/4 full!!! Now that you have a new tank, find somewhere to get it filled. It's generally cheaper to get 18 lbs at the refill place than 15 lbs at the exchange place.
     

Share This Page