Outlets on Battery Power

Discussion in 'Power - Site Power/Batteries/Generators/Solar' started by mubadub, May 27, 2016.

1. mubadub

mubadub New Member

Are the interior outlets supposed to work when you are on battery power? Sorry. I'm a noob!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. PopUpSteve

PopUpSteve Administrator

No, the AC outlets only work when connected to shore power.

3. kitphantom

kitphantom Well-Known Member

No, they don't - and don't worry, you're not the first, nor will you be the last to ask.

Think of the outlets in your pup as the end of a strange extension cord. One end must be plugged into power to provide it at the outlet end.

4. mubadub

mubadub New Member

Thanks for the info! I gathered it was something like that.

5. roybraddy

roybraddy Well-Known Member

I have two 120VAC multi-drop tap locations in my POPUP that is connected to a 600WATT PSW POWER INVERTER AIMS AMAZON that is run from the battery. This is my emergency 120VAC source of power when camping off the power grid for running the HDTV and several other small 120VAC things for charging cellphone WX radio, computers etc...

You have to beef up your batteries some to use something like this...

I have one location on the back of a table near where the Home entertainment items are located and the other location is near the front tent bed area where we sleep all the time...

My 600WATT Power Inverter is ON all the time and only draws a small amount of residual DC power when not being used for something... I started out with 150WATTS and kept increasing the size as we continued to add to it haha... Pretty neat to have around... Runs my 120VAC electric coffee abeam grinder too which is real important to have...

My Power Inverter is a PURE sine wave model so I don't have to ever worry about someone burning up something that the other MODIFIED sine wave models may do... $159 AMAZON...

Roy Ken

Maycat likes this.
  6. woodworkerfella

woodworkerfella Member

Hi Roy,