Pup Brakes

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by RandyT, May 6, 2020.

Tags:
  1. RandyT

RandyT New Member

I'm a newbie to this and haven't even bought a pup yet, just getting the itch.
    I'm wondering about the brakes. I've seen reference to checking the pads, so I assume they're disc brakes similar to a car. But are they hydraulic, or electric? If hydraulic, they don't plug into the towing vehicle's hydraulic lines, so there must be a reservoir for brake fluid somewhere?
    Would it be a dumb question to ask a seller where the brake fluid is added?

Raycfe likes this.
  2. Anthony Hitchings

Anthony Hitchings Well-Known Member Silver Supporting Member

Drums ,not discs, for our Pups, AFAIK

Usually electric - plugging in to TV and needing a controller

Hydraulic brakes are surge type, and stand alone - not plugging in to TV hydraulic lines.

Los of detail on the web if you search

3. Raycfe

Raycfe Waterford Ct.

Welcome.png

Older camper trailers could come with surge brakes ....... drum brakes that would controlled by a master cylinder that is part of the trailer coupler. The backward push of the tow vehicle stopping applies the brakes. Has to be disengaged to back up. Used on just about every boat trailer (discs or drums). The bad part is as they get older they get troublesome.