Questions about buying my first pop up

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by jk70, Sep 3, 2014.

1. jk70

jk70 Member

• I am in the market for a pop up. Never had any type of RV before so i am new to this. I have a 2008 Honda Odyssey 3.5 Liter 244 Horsepower. I feel that should suffice for a TV and I won't buy a different vehicle just so I can buy a pop up. Anyway, my questions:
      • My odyssey doesn't currently have tow capabilities. Should I get that installed at a Honda dealer or someplace else. I know the dealer will be more expensive but wondering if they would know exactly what needed to be installed. Do RV dealers install these things?
      • Max towing is 3500 lbs for the odyssey. If the Pop Up I am looking at says 2,350 gross vehicle weight I assume that means I am fine
      • I see options for pop ups that A/C wiring kit. Would a dealer also install the actual A/C?

2. pckeen

pckeen New Member

You should be fine towing that pop up.

With the towing package, it's up to you where you get it installed: go to who you trust. Be aware though that lots of pop ups have 7 pin connectors, with electric brakes. You'll want to get a towing package that can handle 3500 lbs, with the 7 pin connection and electric brake controller. Mechanics may assume you want the 4 pin controller, so make sure you check.

Sent from my SGH-I717R using Tapatalk

3. nuts4hotwheels

nuts4hotwheels New Member

You can buy direct fit hitches from auto parts stores or online and they are easy to install. I do all of my automotive work, so I would do it myself.

4. swordfish

swordfish Well-Known Member

^^^what pckeen said^^^