Really frustrating

Discussion in 'Propane - Got Gas' started by collinb, Jul 4, 2021.

  1. collinb

    collinb Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    ex-pat cheesehead in Ohio
    2000. Bayside Elite
    Crawling under the front bed to change tanks. (Besides dealing with the storage area.) Anyone have a convenient work-around for this nuisance design?
     
  2. RCmom

    RCmom Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    140
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2021
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Before popping up my camper, I take the tank out of the travel strap. I put it on an upside down milk crate next to the tongue and reattach the hose. A lot easier to switch tanks. I only do this for trips where I know I'll be going through a lot of propane or I know my tank is low.
     
    Westcoast, kcrouth and Raycfe like this.
  3. jmkay1

    jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    4,020
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I personally added a second tank on mine and when it’s fall, I make sure both are full before I get to camp. That way I’m only switching the hose if the first tank is used. During the spring/summer the single tank is sufficient for me.
     
    neighbormike likes this.
  4. collinb

    collinb Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    ex-pat cheesehead in Ohio
    I would like to find a cutover valve, if such exists.
     
  5. collinb

    collinb Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    ex-pat cheesehead in Ohio
    I posted in the middle of searching. There is an auto cutover valve available. Tx all.
     
  6. jmkay1

    jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    4,020
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    . Just be warned I was told if you use the auto changeover valve and it switches over to the second tank you may not be able to use your outside propane hookup until you switch it back to your main tank. I haven't tried it myself as I use my outside hook up all the time. I think it has something to do with the outside hookup being high pressure.
     
  7. collinb

    collinb Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Location:
    ex-pat cheesehead in Ohio
    My pop up system is all low pressure.
     
  8. jmkay1

    jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    4,020
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    . Interesting, I have a sister unit to the Bayside and my outside hookup is high pressure. Everything else is low I think.
     
  9. Sjm9911

    Sjm9911 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,641
    Likes Received:
    8,024
    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Location:
    Nj
    My 2000 westlake had a high pressure hook up also. With my TT and with the westlake, i took a seprate 20 lb bottle with me for outside cooking. Less need to change the bottles on the tounge.
     
    neighbormike likes this.
  10. neighbormike

    neighbormike Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,534
    Likes Received:
    4,276
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Location:
    WI
    It’s more frustrating at 5 in the morning when it’s 31 degrees outside lol
     
  11. kitphantom

    kitphantom Well-Known Member Platinum Supporting Member

    Messages:
    13,221
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Our Coleman Cobalt originally had just one LP tank, so we added a second. I was convinced the first would run out in the middle of a cold night, so we added an auto-changeover too. On that, it was one system, just the (inside) stove and furnace, so no worries about high/low pressure systems. Our TT has an auto-changeover too, and I don't think I'd be without it. (& on the TT there's no crawling around under anything to change LP tanks, if necessary.)
     
  12. Spridle

    Spridle Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    I wish I could find a good low pressure stove to replace the high pressure on the Niagara. In part because the HP stove is pretty tired anyway. The control valves seem to have a ton of slop in them and just touching the knobs causes the flame to jump all over. Nearly impossible to control the flame.
     
  13. Grandpa Don

    Grandpa Don Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Location:
    Southern California
    I just have one propane bottle on the tongue of my Viking model 1906. There isn't really any room to add another. With the camper set up I could never get that tank off the tongue when it needs filling. I have an ultrasonic sensor on the bottom of the tank to warn me that it is getting low. What I do is use a longer than usual connecting hose to the tank. I will carry one spare full tank in my TV and have it sitting right by the tongue. When the main tank gets very low, or empty, I just unscrew the hose and attach it to the spare tank. If I am expecting really cold weather, I will bring two extra tanks. I've only had to do this once in the snow early one morning. I'll just leave the spare tank hooked up until I go home. I'll have it filled once back home and the top is down and secured.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01C5RQJHS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
    neighbormike and Sjm9911 like this.
  14. Grandpa Don

    Grandpa Don Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Location:
    Southern California
    Damn double post error... again!
     
    Sjm9911 likes this.
  15. Gvtexas36

    Gvtexas36 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    I use a 4ft long pigtail propane hose and set the tank on the ground instead of mounting to the tongue.

    upload_2021-7-6_14-14-19.png
     
    Grandpa Don likes this.
  16. Eric Webber

    Eric Webber Well-Known Member Gold Supporting Member

    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    615
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    You can get just about anything you want, and then modify it to work with the low pressure tap coming off the trailer (if its threaded, its a high pressure with the same attachment as a 1lb bottle. If it's a "pop in quick connect", its a low pressure and comes pre-regulated by the camper regulator (most have this). In that case, you can get a kit to bypass the regulator on the stove. I got one for my little weber propane grill, and can either pop in the regulator or the low pressure line and connect it to the side of the camper

    If you have high pressure, your life is even easier. Get a camp chef mountain series or a Stansport and an extension line for 1lb propane tanks
     
  17. PaThacker

    PaThacker Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    382
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Location:
    Poconos
    I have dual tanks on my Jayco highwall. Easy to flip switch between both tanks. King bed glide bars and bed support bars there too. Add shw pugs it’s a spiderweb lol.
     
  18. tfischer

    tfischer A bad day camping beats a good day at the office

    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Location:
    Plymouth (Minneapolis) Minnesota
    I've never come close to using a full tank of propane, even in furnace weather. The fridge, stove and grill don't use much, so the furnace is really the only thing that does (in our pup). If it's going to be cold out (early spring or late fall) we'll make sure we head out with a full tank but we've never come close to using one up.
     
  19. jmkay1

    jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

    Messages:
    6,973
    Likes Received:
    4,020
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    . It entirely depends on what temperature you set the furnace at and how long it stays running. Some may set the furnace at 65F like you would a house thermostat and leave it on all day/night. Unfortunately if it’s 30F degrees or colder outside and camping in a popup without much heat retention that furnace isn’t going to shut off much at all so your going to go through propane mighty fast. Over the years I figured out heat retention system and gas conserving system that’s works for me and my family. Mainly utilizing an electric heater to help support the furnace. Unfortunately the family still are not exactly “happy campers” but it works. On day 4 I may have to switch tanks but we don’t normally camp much beyond that. Unfortunately for my size camper the single electric catalytic heater is no where near enough to keep the popup comfortable on its own so that furnace still gets a work out if it’s freezing. To each their own. Everyone has different tolerance levels.
     
    kitphantom likes this.
  20. tfischer

    tfischer A bad day camping beats a good day at the office

    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    2,337
    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Location:
    Plymouth (Minneapolis) Minnesota
    If we have elec, we bring along a space heater and like you said, the furnace is only backup so doesn't get much use. If we don't have elec, then we're limited by battery as well as propane. Even though we have solar, it's often cloudy in the spring/fall. We tend to have it set just enough to take the edge off of the cold, and then crank it up when we're getting dressed if necessary.
     

Share This Page