Reasons to Buy?

Discussion in 'Camper Pre-Purchase Questions' started by Blft_camper, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Blft_camper

Blft_camper New Member

I'm new to PopUp Portal and as of yet, don't own a PU. My wife and I have been long-time tent campers. I would like to make the jump to a NTU PU however my wife feels that we don't camp enough to justify the purchase. I feel that by buying one, we would go more! Currently it can be quite the hassle packing everything up for tenting not to mention the set-up time at camp. I've dealt with one to many rainstorms in a tent [{}=]to want to get up off the ground.What prompted you to purchase? If one of you was "on the fence" about purchasing, what sealed the deal for you?

2. KJcachers

KJcachers Active Member

Getting off the ground and having a dry spot to ride out a storm other than the car. BTW, look for a used pop up if you want to really win the argument. We got our 88 Coleman Columbia for $700. There are lots of deals to be found if you are patient in your search.

3. Unstable_Tripod

Unstable_Tripod Well, there's your problem!

A PUP is a warm, dry place to sleep and you can stand up to get dressed. You will appreciate this all the more during the first rainstorm. You also have a place to wash your hands and face, brush your teeth and so on. You can keep all of your bedding and clothing in the PUP and not have to move them back and forth to the TV (tow vehicle) like you do with a tent. Set-up and tear-down times are a shorter but not as much as you would think. There a tent chores you no longer have to do but new ones you did not have with a tent like leveling, hitching/unhitching and maintenance. All in all, if you ask 100 PUP people if they'd ever go back to a tent my guess is that about 95 of them would say, "NO!"

4. wardog

wardog Member