Rebuilding Palomino Roof - what is this trim called, and where to buy?

Discussion in 'Roof/Floor Repair & Maintenance' started by steelerector, Jul 8, 2021.

1. steelerector

steelerector New Member

I'm new to the pop-up game, and naturally I dove straight into the deep end.

I picked up an 09 Yearling this week that needs a new roof. I've got a plan to frame & build a new roof, and have sourced most of the parts that I need. The only thing I'm missing is this trim piece around the base of the top. I got the bulb gasket that attaches underneath, but I can't find this piece that caps the bottom. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I can try to salvage what's on, but it's in pretty bad shape and I'm afraid it wont survive disassembly.

Thanks!

I'll probably do a rebuild thread once I get going, to document triumphs and defeats. bottom trim.JPG

TheGreatOutDoris likes this.
  2. Rottiegirl

Rottiegirl Member

I have an 08 Pony and just replaced the end boards this spring. It’s not glued down. Remove the caulk from the top edge. Use a putty knife to run down the length to loosen it, there’s butyl tape behind that side. Bottom edge there’s small screws, hidden under the seal. Pull the seal out and you’ll see them. They come out easy, especially if the wood is rotted. You can always drill them out if you need to. You can sand the trim piece and paint it. I used JB Weld marine weld to fill holes on outside edge someone had put screws in. Just remove it carefully so you don’t bend it. I know of no place you can buy new pieces. Corner pieces are easy to find. But not this bottom roof piece.

3. TheGreatOutDoris

TheGreatOutDoris New Member

I'm starting my rebuild of an identical top. I was able to remove all the screws and pull it off pretty cleanly. I'm hoping to powerwash & scrape it down, then re-paint it. GOOD LUCK!

4. Lebowski16

Lebowski16 Member