Replacement Mattresses

Discussion in 'Cushion, Curtains, Carpets, Bedding, Clothing Stor' started by JoeyS, Mar 17, 2019.

1. JoeyS

JoeyS New Member

Hey everyone. Newbie here with a question. We just bought a 2012 Jayco 1206 pop up and are in the process of cleaning it up and getting it ready to camp.

The mattresses that are in there are in OK shape but I wanted to replace them with new ones. I’m looking for the best / cheapest replacement mattresses that I can find but the sizes don’t seem to be standard mattress sizes. The rear seems to be a short queen and the front is a bit larger so I’m assuming it’s a king.

Any advice?

2. Matt Benoit

Matt Benoit Well-Known Member

I can't speak about replacement mattresses. However many folks, including myself have improved the comfort of the standard foam mattress with the addition of an inexpensive mattress topper (usually 2in) and placing anti fatigue mats under the mattresses. Doing both of these has really improved the comfort of our mattresses. No more sore hips and shoulders. Good luck!

3. Shaman1

Shaman1 Well-Known Member

Welcome from Oklahoma. Most RV mattresses are not standard size. Many do as Matt Benoit suggested. You can measure them, go to an upholstery shop and get higher density foam.

4. jmkay1

jmkay1 2004 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah

I heard where people just cut their own mattresses out of foam. However if your mattresses are still usable then just cover them with toppers etc. I myself just covered my existing mattress with a waterproof mattress cover stretched to fit. Thanks to dogs,a kid, and myself being clutzy I wanted something that can take our abuse. Then I used jersey sheets over that. Under the mattress I used interconnecting floor pads and my bed is much warmer in the winter and far more comfortable.

Some people just washed the cover and let the foam in the sun to bake to help clean it.

5. roybraddy

roybraddy Well-Known Member